A More Interesting Fruit Salad

March 13, 2012 at 8:39 am Leave a comment

I completely forgot that last Wednesday marked the 1 year anniversary of this blog. Of course the name and address has changed, but my food blog baby is now one year old… and I forgot. Opps.

I like to think that I was so busy trying new recipes and creations for your reading pleasure, but honestly, I just forgot.

So happy 1 year birthday to A Cup of Flour! (yaaaay)

In other news, this time change is killing me.

In my defense, this is the first time I’ve gone on daylight savings time in 4 years (did I write about this yesterday? I forget…).

This morning was particularly painful, as Hisa and I got up to go lap swimming. It was still fully night by the time we arrived at the pool, and the sun slowly started coming up as we swam.

I admit, I’m quite proud of myself for going and swimming as much as I usually do despite the time change (and the fact that I slept horribly last night). I just hope I can adjust to the new time better before the next time we go lap swimming.

I’ve never been a big fruit salad person.

But then, most of my fruit salad experiences have been limited to those cans of mixed fruit cocktail.

This stuff.

I have to say, I’m not a fan of it.

Fruit salad can be a delicious accompaniment to a meal or a healthy dessert, however. It’s also great for breakfast by itself or with plain yogurt and granola added to it!

Besides a wide variety of fresh fruits, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, and shredded coconut all make great additions to fruit salad. For dessert, try adding a dollop of freshly whipped cream, creme fraiche, clotted cream, or yogurt cheese (like I did above).

Substitute whatever fruits, nuts, seeds, extras you want for this. It’s pretty hard to screw it up, so feel free to experiment a little.

Fruit Salad

(serves 7 – 9)

  • 2 bananas, sliced
  • 1 can chunk pineapple (in 100% juice) or fresh pineapple
  • 1 can mandarin oranges (in 100% juice), drained
  • 2 apples, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/2 c. almond slivers
  • 1/2 c. raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
  1. Add the banana, mandarin oranges, apple, and raisins to a large bowl.
  2. Drain the pineapple, reserving about 1/2 c. of the juice. Add the pineapple to the bowl.
  3. Toast the almond slivers, pumpkin seeds, and coconut. Let cool, and add to the bowl along with the raisins.
  4. Add the reserved pineapple juice (optional), and mix everything well.
  5. Serve immediately or refrigerate until needed.
  6. Serve by itself or with whipped cream, yogurt, yogurt cheese, clotted cream, creme fraiche, etc.

Entry filed under: Breakfast & Brunch, Desserts, Salad, Snack food, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for March 12 – 18 St. Patrick’s Day Clover Cookies & Ice Cream

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers
March 2012
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives