St. Patrick’s Day Clover Cookies & Ice Cream

March 14, 2012 at 11:08 am Leave a comment

Homemade chocolate chip cookies have to be my favorite dessert of all time. They’re a simple, humble dessert. There’s nothing gourmet about them. But when they’re fresh from the oven, warm and gooey (no crunchy, crisp cookies please), and served with a glass of cold milk… Ah, that is heaven my friends. At least my version of it!

Every so often I simply need homemade chocolate chip cookies. Not want. Need. Like I need to breath, and need to eat food and drink water to survive. So do I need my chocolate chip cookies. Cookie Monster would understand. He’s my homie. The only difference is he’s able to eat as many chocolate chip cookies as he wants without ever gaining weight. I on the other hand, have to work out five days a week… damn him.

But I digress.

A few days ago, I found myself in need of some warm, gooey chocolate chip cookies, so I thought I should take the opportunity to share with you an easy dessert idea for St. Patrick’s Day.

This is a festive and easy (and green! The color green, not eco green) dessert for St. Patrick’s Day.

 

St. Patrick’s Day Clover Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • one batch of your favorite homemade chocolate chip cookies
  • 1 clover leaf shaped cookie cutter
  • mint chocolate chip ice cream
  1. Use your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe to make the cookies, but spread the dough out in one single sheet like you would to make bars or a cookie cake.
    My all-time favorite cookie recipe is the original Nestle Toll House chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s what my mom always made when we were kids, it’s what I learned to make when I was a kid, and it will always be my favorite. But feel free to use whatever cookie recipe you like.
    You can find that recipe here: Nestle Toll House chocolate chip cookie bars
  2. After you’ve baked the cookies, let them cool slightly so they’re still warm, but not so much that’ll they’ll fall apart if you cut them out.
  3. Use your handy dandy clover leaf shaped cookie cutter to cut out cookies. Place the cut out cookies on a wire rack to cool. [note: Because chocolate chip cookies melt and spread out slightly while they bake, you don’t want to cut out the cookies before you bake them. They’ll loose they’re clover shape and simply be oddly shaped cookies.]
  4. Scoop out individual servings of the mint chocolate chip ice cream into bowls and serve with two warm cookies -or- let the cookies cool completely, place a small ball of ice cream on the bottom of one cookie, and carefully smoosh another cookie on that to make ice cream sandwiches.

Entry filed under: Baking, Desserts, Holiday Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A More Interesting Fruit Salad Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


