Archive for June 20, 2011

Menu Plan Monday for June 20 – 24

If I watch a movie right before I go to bed, I have a tendency to dream about it. There’s probably an 80% chance that I’ll dream about the movie. My husband thinks it’s funny that I’m so easily influenced by movies as he puts it, but I think it’s more that I tend to get really involved in movies when I watch them.

My husband loves to periodically glance at my face while we watch movies to see what face I’m making and/or if I’m crying. I make a lot of faces. Tense faces, sad faces, happy faces, OMG I can’t believe that just happened faces, etc. For him it’s part of the entertainment of watching a movie. I also cry easily during emotional scenes.

I can’t help it. I get really involved in movies. I blame my mom. I always teased her about doing exactly the same thing when I was a kid. Not only does my mom make faces, however, she will also makes noises. Gasping, oohing, awing, etc. I at least don’t make noises. We both tend to dream about movies we watch right before bed as well.

Over time I have come to admit the truth. I have become my mother. As my father enjoyed watching my mother’s movie faces, now my husband enjoys watching mine. The circle of life continues.

*        *        *

I recently came to the conclusion that I really don’t know a lot about cooking certain types of cuisines. French cuisine for example. Besides some basic things like quiche, ratatouille, and crepes, I haven’t really cooked/don’t know how to cook much French food.

I decided I should fix this, so I checked out a French cook book from the library last week and found some recipes to try. There are a bunch of recipes I’d like to try, but do to the, um, heavy/rich/creamy/luscious tendency of many French dishes, I’m limiting myself to one or two a week. For this week’s menu, I have two nights of French food I’m planning, but it’s all basic stuff. Nothing fancy.

Menu Plan for June 20 – 24:

  • French onion soup gratinée and salad niçoise
  • Spaghetti alla puttanesca (a tomato sauce with capers, olives, and anchovies) and broccoli
  • Coquilles Saint-Jacques Provençale (scallops in a tomato & white wine sauce), potatoes lyonnaise (baked potatoes and onions), and leeks vinaigrette
  • Thai spring rolls and tom yam soup
  • Salmon burgers/wraps (haven’t decided) and potato salad

June 20, 2011 at 12:14 pm 4 comments


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers
June 2011
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives