Couscous and Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

December 24, 2011 at 1:25 pm Leave a comment

I had something relevant and funny to talk about, but I’ve forgotten it in the pre-Christmas things-I-need-to-do-between-now-and-Christmas-morning rush.

Not that I really have that much I need to do, honestly.

My Christmas shopping is done (thank God; the current state of the malls frightens me), and all the gifts are wrapped and under the tree. It’s more cooking things I need to do.

This evening Mom and I have to go to the grocery store to get all the food things we need for Christmas eve and Christmas day. Tomorrow I need to make cookies, make the pumpkin cheesecake, help Mom make almond brittle, and get the cinnamon rolls ready so I just have to pop them in the oven Christmas morning. I also need to make enchiladas for dinner tomorrow night (family Christmas tradition), and my brother and sister-in-law are coming tomorrow as well. And then there’s the Christmas eve service tomorrow evening. Since Christmas is on a Sunday this year, I’ll probably have to get up a little bit early to bake the cinnamon rolls, so we can eat them and get to church by 10am. Phew.

Not that I mind any of it. I’m just happy and excited to spend Christmas with my family. I can’t wait for my brothers to get here! I haven’t seen them since Hisa and I got back to the U.S. It should be a great Christmas!


This stuffed acorn squash recipe is a delicious and healthy meal that’s great for the winter months. Wow, that sounded like the headline for a recipe in a magazine. Let me simplify. This stuffed squash recipe is really good. Make it. Right now.

I use turkey sausage for this dish, but feel free to use any kind of sausage you want, or leave it out altogether to make it a vegetarian dish.


To start off, cut your two acorn squashes in half and de-seed them. Place them in a glass baking dish, add a pat of butter to the inside of each half, and bake them at 400° F (200° C) for about 30 minutes.


Heat some olive oil in a pan and saute 1 diced onion and 4 garlic cloves until tender.


Add some 3 – 4 diced mushrooms and cook for a couple minutes.


Add 3/4 – 1 lb. turkey sausage and cook until the sausage is cooked through.


Add 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup almond slivers and cook for 2 more minutes.


Add 6 oz. washed baby spinach, and cook until wilted and most of the water is evaporated.


Add your couscous to the pan and mix it in. Season with salt and pepper to taste.


Add 1/2 – 3/4 c. shredded cheese, and mix it in well.


Stuff the acorn squash halves with the filling, packing it down so you can get a lot in them. Sprinkle some more shredded cheese on top, and bake them at 400° F (200° C) for about 10 – 15 minutes.


Couscous and Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

(serves 4)

  •  2 medium acorn squash
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 c. garlic and olive oil couscous (or plain couscous)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 c. diced mushrooms
  • 3/4 – 1 lb. turkey sausage
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/2 c. almond slivers
  • 6 oz. baby spinach, washed
  • 3/4 c. shredded cheese, plus more for topping
  • salt and pepper
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400° F (200° C).
  2. Cut squash in half and de-seed. Place peeling side down in a glass baking dish. Add a pat of butter to inside of each squash. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until squash in tender.
  3. Cook couscous according to package instructions. Set aside.
  4. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and cook about 3 – 4 minutes.
  5. Add diced mushroom and continue cooking until liquid from mushrooms has sweated off and evaporated.
  6. Add sausage and cook until browned.
  7. Add raisins and almonds and cook for about two more minutes.
  8. Add spinach and cook until wilted and the water evaporated.
  9. Turn heat off. Mix in couscous, and season mixture with salt and pepper to taste. Mix in cheese.
  10. Spoon filling into squash halves, packing it tightly. Sprinkle with cheese, and bake for about 10 minutes at 400° F. Serve.

 

Entry filed under: Baking, Beef, Chicken, Pork, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Chicken Korma (with korma curry paste recipe) Menu Plan Monday for January 2 – 7

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


