Stuffed Bell Peppers

May 27, 2011 at 2:11 pm 1 comment

Continuing the theme of vegetables I hated when I was a kid, I really hated bell peppers. Green, red, yellow, didn’t matter. I hated them all.

I don’t think there’s any way my parents could have gotten me to eat half of a bell pepper like in the stuffed bell pepper recipe below. I think my poor mom knew this, however, because I don’t recall her ever making stuffed bell peppers when I was a kid.

Sorry about that Mom…

Hisa thinks it’s crazy how many vegetables I hated when I was a kid (evidently he could eat most veggies as a kid). He told me that someday when we have kids, if they hate vegetables it’ll be my fault. I told him that a hate of vegetables during childhood is not genetic, and thus, if our future kids hate vegetables it isn’t my fault. So there.

I do have a feeling though, that if our kids hate vegetables, my mom will be lurking somewhere behind me laughing maniacally at the sweet justice of it all… Then she’ll feed our kids lots of goodies that we wouldn’t normally give them at home, and they’ll start saying things like “Can we have ____?” “But Grandma and Grandpa let us have ___!” “I wanna go see Grandma and Grandpa!”

I can already picture it…

Moving on…now I love bell peppers! They’re great! I found a recipe for stuffed bell peppers in Nourishing Traditions recently, so I decided to try it out this week. They were a good, healthy main dish, and Hisa and I both liked them, so I’m sure I’ll be making them again.

Here’s my version of the recipe.

Stuffed Bell Peppers (serves 2)

  • 2 large bell peppers (any color)
  • 1/3 lb ground beef (or chicken/turkey)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/3 onion, diced
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/3 c. beef stock (or chicken)
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, thyme, and rosemary
  • 3/4 c. cooked brown rice
  • 1/4 c. toasted pine nuts (can substitute almonds or walnuts)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 c. shredded cheese
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (175 C) and butter or spray a square baking dish.
  2. Wash and cut peppers long-ways. Remove stems and seeds. Set aside.
  3. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the ground beef and cook until no pink left. Add the onion and cook for about 2 minutes.
  4. Add the tomato paste, beef stock, and herbs, and bring to a boil. Cook until the liquid is about half gone, then add the rice and pine nuts and mix well. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Fill each half of the bell peppers liberally with filling. Place in baking dish and cover each stuffed pepper with cheese.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until peppers are tender. Serve.
Entry filed under: Baking, Beef, Chicken, Pork, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Baked Eggplant Parmesan Menu Plan Monday for May 30 – June 3

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


