It’s Summer! That Means Berries Galore!

June 30, 2011 at 10:43 am Leave a comment

Here are some things I hate about summer:

  • Bugs
  • Crushing humidity (this mainly applies to Japan in my experience)
  • Days that are so hot you don’t want to move much less leave the house
  • Days that are so hot you don’t want to move or leave the house, but you have to
  • The fact that my kitchen and bathroom have no air conditioning (it makes cooking in July and August hell)

 

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, here are some things I love about summer:

  • Ice cream
  • Taking a vacation somewhere with family
  • Swimming (specifically pool parties)
  • The laid back vibe of the season
  • Grilling and cook-outs
  • Camping
  • Summer dresses
  • 4th of July festivities (including fireworks)
  • Air-conditioning
  • Cold foods
  • All the delicious fresh vegetables available
  • Berries

I love berries. They’re my favorite fruits really. Strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries… All delicious. They’re so versatile too. There are so many things you can do with berries. Of course there are a billion desserts you can make with them, but they’re also lovely in smoothies, salads, and go great with certain cheeses (although my husband would disagree with the last too).

For the 4th of July, although it’s not a holiday here, and will thus be just a regular Monday for my husband and I, I’m planning on making burgers (sadly not grilled, as don’t own one) and blueberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream for dessert. I love berry cobblers in the summer! It just seems so right somehow, but then I’m from Oklahoma, so maybe it’s just a Southern thing. Do people back East (and up North and on the West coast) eat cobblers much in the summer? If not, I’m so sorry. Go make yourself one now and become a happier person.

I was looking online and found some awesome looking berry dishes. If you have a bunch of fresh of frozen berries on hand, and/or you’re looking for something different to make this summer, I would definitely try one (or all) of these recipes out.

Blackberry Galette with homemade vanilla whipped cream from For the Love of Cooking. This looks so good…

Streusel-Topped Blueberry Muffins from Our Best Bites. I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t like blueberry muffins. These put a twist on the classic with the streusel topping.

Peach and Raspberry Crisp from Joy the Baker. Lord this looks good. But then everything Joy makes looks delicious. If you’ve never been to her blog go there now. And get a tissue, because you will drool.

Baked Brie Bites with POM-Berry Sauce from The Curvy Carrot. Gooey cheese and berries together? Ohhh yeaaah!

Last, but certainly not least, Blackberry Ice Cream from The Pioneer Woman.

I’m definitely buying an ice cream maker when we move back to the States. Because there’s nothing more delicious than homemade ice cream in the summer.

So go buy some berries to eat and enjoy. It’s summer y’all! Have fun!

Entry filed under: Desserts. Tags: , , , , , , .

Temaki-zushi (hand-rolled sushi) Menu Plan Monday for July 11 – 15 (and my recovery from the cold from hell)

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers
June 2011
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives