Menu Plan Monday for July 11 – 15 (and my recovery from the cold from hell)

July 11, 2011 at 3:21 pm Leave a comment

Apologies for the week-long absence, but as post title says, I’ve been recovering from the cold from hell. Or perhaps I should call it “the cold that would never end”. Either way, last week was definitely not fun.

Since the 4th of July is obviously not a holiday in Japan, we were planning on celebrating over dinner some friends. It may seem just a small thing, but considering I haven’t celebrated the 4th of July since 2007, I was pretty excited about it. I was planning on making hamburgers (with homemade buns), coleslaw, and blueberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream for dessert.

Sadly, I woke up Monday morning with a sore throat, and feeling absolutely terrible. I refused to be defeated by the untimely cold (my illnesses are always untimely, and always seem to occur around holidays and important events), and informed my husband that I would be okay, and would could still have company come over for dinner. I would persevere!

Determined to carry on, I decided that I should get everything ready in the morning; that way I could spend the rest of the afternoon resting. It was brilliant. And everything I did do. I vacuumed our apartment, cleaned everything, made hamburger buns, made the coleslaw, got the meat marinating, and assembled the cobbler so it would be ready to bake.

I was quite pleased with the fact that I finished everything before lunch, and thought I had managed quite well…until I actually sat down. Then everything caught up with me, including my cold. And by catching up with me, I mean it punched me in the face and laughed at my curled up, sniveling self.

By about 2pm, I texted my husband from the bubble I had created inside of my futon, and told him that I felt like poo, and we needed to cancel tonight’s dinner.

We still ended up having hamburgers for dinner, although it was just the two of us, since I had done all the food prep in the morning. I didn’t enjoy it all that much, however, and I only managed to eat one hamburger. Alas, such is life. At least my husband really enjoyed the food.

The rest of the week was pretty much a blur. Tuesday, my husband took me to the doctor, and I got some medicine. Wednesday, stage 2 of my cold set in, and I began sneezing and blowing my nose continuously. Thursday, in addition to the sneezing and blowing of the nose, stage 3 began with coughing and my ear feeling stuffy and hurting. By Friday, the sneezing was over, and my throat was actually feeling somewhat better, but the blowing of the nose and coughing was continuous. Saturday, I finally began stage 4 in which I actually started feeling better. I spent the weekend blowing my nose and coughing up crap, but each day I feel a little better. Today I’m not coughing or blowing my nose quite so much, and I’ve been able to get some things done around the house, but I decided (with the help of a little motherly wisdom from my mom) that I probably shouldn’t go to karate today. I hate it, because I missed it all last week, but if I tried such an intense workout today (and in this crazy heat) I’d probably pass out and/or make myself sick again. So I’m erring on the side of caution. Best to be completely well and strong before I start punching things again.

Menu Plan for July 11 – 15:

  • Sloppy Joes and mustard potato salad (I haven’t had sloppy joes in years, and Hisa has never had them before, so I’m looking forward to this)
  • Hot dogs and leftover potato salad (I also haven’t had a hot dog in years, so I’m looking forward to this as well)
  • Thai stir-fried veggies and shrimp with steamed rice
  • Chana masala (Indian chickpea stew) with tumeric rice
  • Lemon caper chicken pasta and tossed salad

Here are some pictures from our 4th of July dinner (yes, despite feeling like crap, I still took pictures!).

Burgers and coleslaw! Mm, mm good!

After much experimentation, I finally have both a hamburger bun recipe and a hamburger patty recipe that I really like.

Homemade blueberry cobbler.

It doesn’t get much better than this folks.

Here’s hoping this week is a better one! Stay cool everyone!

Entry filed under: Life, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s Summer! That Means Berries Galore! Japanese Inari Sushi (いなり寿司) & Simmered Yellowtail with Radish (ぶり大根)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


