Menu Plan Monday for Oct. 29 – Nov. 2

October 29, 2012 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment

What a weekend it was here!

Because….(dare I say it? Do I even dare?!)…

…It was COLD here in Houston!

I know! Right?!

It’s been awesome! It finally feels like fall!

Hisa and I were so excited about the cool weather Saturday, that we went to the Armand Bayou Nature Center in south-east Houston to hike around on some of the trails there. We’d heard a lot about the place, but never been there, so since the weather was so wonderful we thought we’d finally check it out.

It was a really nice place too! It’s not huge, but there are three really pretty trails, each about a mile and a half long with bayou overlooks every so often. It was much more wooded than I thought it would be, which was great, because I love hiking in forests with a lot of shade.

One of the bayou overlooks.

We saw quite a bit of wildlife while we were there too. We saw deer four different times, and we also saw some turtles, herons, and jumping fish. There’s supposed to be alligators at the bayou as well, but I think it was too cool out for them, because they weren’t out when we were there (or we just didn’t see them…creepy…).

Here’s Hisa pretending to look at something in the woods.

And here’s me pretending to be hanging from a tree…that I’m obviously not hanging from.
What a cool couple we are, right?

It was a beautiful place, and a fun way to enjoy the great weather. I’m sure we’ll go back again sometime to hike the one trail we missed this time around.

Menu Plan Monday for Oct. 29 – Nov. 2:

Mon: Ham and asparagus strata and tossed salad

Tues: Chicken and butternut squash stew and country wheat bread

Wed: Spaghetti alla puttanesca and tossed salad

Thurs: Slow cooker beef tacos

Fri: Leftovers

 

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Pumpkin Flan Fish Chowder

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


