Menu Plan Monday for October 22 – 26

October 22, 2012 at 11:55 am 2 comments

Saturday, Hisa and I went to the Texas Renaissance Festival. Supposedly it’s the largest Renaissance festival in the world, so I was super excited to go. When I was a kid, my family would usually go to the Medieval Fair in the city of Norman in Oklahoma. We always loved going, and I even dressed up once or twice as a kid. It was one of those things we kids would look forward to for months beforehand, so you can imagine how pumped I was about going Saturday.

I have to say, this festival has forever ruined me on Oklahoma’s medieval fair. It was so amazing, and big! Rather than a festival, it was more like a city. Instead of the vendors all being in tents, they were all in these amazing buildings. I felt like I was on the set of Lord of the Rings. There were also a huge number of people dressed up in really great costumes. You could just sit and watch people walk by all day, and it would be extremely entertaining.

There were so many crafts vendors and food vendors, performances and demonstrating artists. It really was impossible to see everything in one day. Hisa and I were there for 5 hours, and we only went inside a handful of the shops, saw 4 of the 47 shows being performed, and ate food from 1 of the 31 food vendors there. I really want to go again just to see more of it. I would also love to dress up next year. Of course in order to that, I’ll need to acquire amazing sewing skills between now and then, which may be difficult…

One other great thing. We went to see the jousting in “The Arena” while we were at the festival. They had these amazing horn players and a drummer there who played music throughout the jousting. Before it started when people were gathering and finding seats, they started playing the horn music from Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail. And they played it perfectly. That just made my day. It was awesome.

Menu Plan for Oct. 22 – 26:

Mon: Beef stroganoff and steamed broccoli

Tues: Japanese curry rice and salad

Wed: Baked fish with tartar sauce, baked sweet potatoes, and tossed salad

Thurs: Chicken and butternut squash stew and fresh bread

Fri: Chicken and spinach enchiladas and tossed salad

Entry filed under: Life, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Curry Chicken Salad Halloween re-post: Pretzel Monster Fingers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jayne  |  October 29, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    Wow! I think we were both at RenFest the same day. Small world!

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 29, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Fun! I want to go back, because there’s so much I missed the first time!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


