Menu Plan Monday for October 15 – 19

October 15, 2012 at 11:55 am 2 comments

I can’t believe October is already half over!

When did that happen?

As Halloween grows steadily closer, however, I find myself starting to look forward to Thanksgiving and Christmas more and more. Not so much that I’m not somewhat horrified to already see the huge section of Christmas decorations at Walmart, but enough that I’m starting to think about what I’m going to get people for Christmas, and I’m looking forward to the little family traditions we and mainly seeing my family.

Are you ready for the holiday season?

Yesterday, Hisa and I decided to go see a farmer’s market that one of is co-workers told us about. It was about a 45 minute drive to a little town south of Houston.
It was a really nice farmer’s market. More than a multiple farmers selling things, however, it was basically a market on one family’s farm that mainly sold their stuff, but also some local stuff from other farms nearby. These people had it down to a science. First of all, their vegetables looked amazing. I’ve never seen such fresh, lovely looking vegetables. Also the sheer variety of things they grow and sell on the farm was amazing. A huge number of vegetables, fruit, nuts, beans, grains, etc. They also sold several varieties of sausage, all made on the farm. Everything was also a really good deal. I was like a kid in a candy store. It was great.

Menu Plan for October 15 – 19:

Mon: Meatloaf, fried potatoes, corn on the cob

Tues: Pinto beans, cornbread, collard greens

Wed: Broccoli and pesto fettuccine

Thurs: Spanish chickpea and chorizo soup and multi-grain batter bread

Fri: Walnut crusted dijon salmon, fried okra, green beans almondine

 

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Pumpkin Lasagna Curry Chicken Salad

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jayne  |  October 29, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    Which farmer’s market did you go to? Please share!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


