Menu Plan Monday for October 8 – 12

October 8, 2012 at 11:55 am Leave a comment

I don’t know how the weather was this weekend where you are, but here in Houston, the weather yesterday was fabulous!

In the morning it was in the low 50’s and overcast, and it never got higher than the low 70’s. I got to wear my knee-high boots, a jacket, and a light scarf for the first time since last winter. It was awesome.

Today is another beautiful fall day. Not quite as cool as yesterday, but still lovely. Ah, I know this fall weather is rare in Houston this time of year, but I’m absolutely loving it. Fall is one of my favorite times of the year. I only hope it lasts for awhile. Personally, I’m fine not having anymore days in the 80’s. 70’s and below from here on out would be great in my books.

Besides, the falls weather is a great excuse (as if I ever needed an excuse) to cook wonderful fall foods! I made my menu plan for this week, and then realized that I’d put two different comfort soups on it (three if you count Thai green curry). Still, it’s a refreshing change from summer foods.

I also have another pumpkin dish on the menu for this week (of course). This week I’m going to try making pumpkin flan. I’ve never made flan before (although I’ve eaten plenty of it! Japan has great flan!), but I’ve heard it’s pretty easy to make, so I’m going to give it a go this week.

Yesterday morning, I made pumpkin French toast for breakfast. It was a spur of the moment kind of thing, as I had some leftover pumpkin puree, and some bread to use up, but it was a very yummy spur of the moment thing. I was sleepy and not quite awake though, so I didn’t measure anything or take any pictures (if you haven’t picked up on this yet, I’m not a morning person), plus this was sort of a test go, but next time I’ll be sure to measure things and take pictures. Pumpkin French toast. Very tasty.

Enjoy the beautiful fall weather this week if you have it! If you don’t, it’s something to look forward to!

The scones will be plain this time, however, chocolate and walnuts are always a welcome addition…

Behold, the love child of burgers and burritos… Mexican Burger Burritos! Delicious.

Good ‘ol tomato soup. You never let me down. Especially when I’m dipping a grilled cheese sandwich into you.

 

Menu Plan for October 8 – 12:

  • Mon: Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches (comfort food to the max!)
  • Tues: Thai green curry  and steamed Jasmine rice (a comfort food from my adulthood!)
  • Wed: Mexican burger burritos
  • Thurs: Fish chowder and plain scones (comfort food from my childhood!)
  • Fri: Chinese chicken and egg noodle stir-fry and spicy and sour shrimp soup
  • extras: pumpkin flan
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Country Wheat Bread Okonomiyaki (Japanese savory meat and vegetable pancake) お好み焼き

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


