Dark Chocolate Chip and Walnut Scones

October 3, 2012 at 11:55 am 10 comments

I love scones.

I remember when my mom first started making them. She a got a recipe for them from someone at our church, I believe. I was in elementary school, and I’d never heard of nor had scones before. But from that very first scone I was in love. Fresh scones are hard to beat.

Growing up, whenever my mom made fish chowder, she would make plain scones to go with it. This may seem like an odd combination, but trust me, it’s lovely. We would slather them with butter and honey and eat them with our chowder. Ah, memories.

I still make plain scones whenever IĀ  make fish chowder. It’s one of those comfort foods that makes me feel warm and fuzzy because it reminds me of my childhood (and because it tastes really good of course too). Sometimes, however, I like to make scones for breakfast too. They’re great, because you can make just about any kind you want, just like muffins.

This time around, I found myself wanting scones for breakfast one Saturday morning. And not just any scones, but chocolate chip scones with walnuts. And not just any chocolate, but dark chocolate. Whenever I eat or make anything with chocolate, I always use dark chocolate. I figure, if I’m going to go all out and eat chocolate, than it better be good chocolate, and my favorite kind of chocolate on earth is dark chocolate (the darker, the better).

These are a wonderful treat for a weekend morning (or a special weekday morning even). Crumbly on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside with warm gooey chocolate and crispy walnuts. Heaven my friends. In the form of a breakfast quick bread.

Dark Chocolate and Walnut Scones

(makes 8 scones)

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. cold un-salted butter (half a stick), cut into cubes
  • 1/2 – 3/4 bag of dark chocolate chips (5 – 8 oz.)
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts
  • 2/3 c. buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  1. Pre-heat oven to 425Ā° F. Grease a baking sheet.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. With a pastry blender (or two forks), cut in butter until it resembles coarse crumbs.
  4. Add chocolate chips and chopped walnuts and mix in.
  5. Beat buttermilk and egg together in a small bowl. Pour over the flour mixture and stir just until the mixture comes together. Try not to over mix it.
  6. Pour out dough onto a lightly floured surface. Knead 4 or 5 times. Transfer to the prepared cookie sheet. With floured hands pat dough into an 8-inch circle. Using a floured knife, cut into 8 wedges, but do not separate the pieces.
  7. Bake 15 – 18 minutes, or until golden brown.

Entry filed under: Baking, Bread, Breakfast & Brunch, Desserts, Recipes, Snack food. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for October 1 – 5 Country Wheat Bread

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben Listen  |  October 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Dang.. I really want to try making this, but it seems like it might be above my level ;_; Two forks? MADNESS~!

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 3, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      If you have a pastry cutter, it’s pretty easy. No forks necessary. šŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. Carrolr  |  November 13, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    You can grate your cold butter into the flour mixture.. Works great also. Plus saves a lot of mixing.

    Reply
    • 4. rueki86  |  November 14, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      True! I like pastry cutters, but a grater works well too! It’s probably faster too.

      Reply
  • 5. Maggie Searles  |  November 15, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I can’t wait to try the choc scones and many more of your idears

    Reply
  • 6. Amy Savile-Barton  |  November 15, 2012 at 7:49 am

    With egg and ham? Are you mental?

    Reply
    • 7. rueki86  |  November 15, 2012 at 11:55 am

      Hey, it was for breakfast! Ham and eggs are always good for breakfast. šŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 8. Isobelle  |  November 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    looking forward to making the scones. Scones are common in Scotland. I rememer having them hot out of the oven when I was a child

    Reply
    • 9. rueki86  |  November 15, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      Scones are pretty common now in the U.S., but they weren’t when I was a child. I’m lucky I had a mom who made them for me!

      Reply
  • 10. mariah  |  November 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Can hardly wait to try these and the rice tabouleh! Thanks šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


