Baked Fish Fillet Sandwiches

September 14, 2012 at 9:12 am Leave a comment

I’m so glad it’s Friday!!

Between going to school part time, and working part time, I’ve become busy full time! This probably seems like a fairly obvious observation, but it’s true nonetheless.
Yay Friday!

When I was kid, we sometimes went to McDonald’s. I’ve always hated their hamburgers, so when I was a kid, I would get their fish fillet sandwich. I thought it was pretty good, and it didn’t gross me out like their hamburgers did.

Fast forward to now. I haven’t been to McDonald’s in a loooong time (I generally try to avoid fast food), but I started thinking about those fish fillet sandwiches I used to get as a kid. I thought it would be fun to make, so last week I got some frozen cod fillets, and made Hisa and I baked fish fillet sandwiches for supper.

I didn’t want to fry them, so I prepared it the same as my baked fishsticks, except for cutting them into sticks, and then simply made them into sandwiches.

This is a very easy, straight forward recipe, so it’s good for a busy night, when you don’t have much time or you’re too exhausted to be bothered.

I recommend cod for this recipe, but any firm white fish will work fine.

Baked Fish Fillet Sandwiches

(serves 4)

  • 4 sandwich size fillets of cod (as big or as little as you want)
  • 1 – 2 c. flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 c. panko bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper
  • tartar sauce
  • 4 hamburger buns
  • butter for buns
  • sliced cheese (optional)
  • lettuce (optional)
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400° F (200° C). Spray a cooking sheet with non-stick spray or line with parchment paper.
  2. Rinse and pat dry fish fillets.
  3. Add the four, beaten egg, and panko individually to three small bowls. Dip each fish fillet, being sure to coat both sides, into the flour, the egg, and the panko, in that order. Place on the prepared baking sheet.
  4. Bake fish for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.
  5. Spread butter on each hamburger bun half, then toast until buttered side is golden brown.
  6. To assemble: spread tartar sauce on one or both hamburger buns. Place one fish fillet on bottom bun, then top with sliced cheese, lettuce, and the top bun. Serve.

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Baking, Bread, Recipes, Sandwiches, Seafood. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Stuffed Buns aka Kolache Menu Plan Monday for Sept. 17 – 21

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives


