Menu Plan Monday for September 10 – 14

September 10, 2012 at 11:58 am Leave a comment

I don’t know about this getting up at 6:30 am business.

I find getting up before the sun has risen unnatural.

Of course, when I was a teacher in Japan, I had to get up at 6 am every morning. That was especially painful in the mornings, as we didn’t have a heater at the time, so it was freezing cold in our apartment. Not fun.

Still, I’m so grateful we actually have heating/air conditioning this time around! And not just any heating/air, but central heating/air! If you’ve ever lived outside of the U.S., you probably know. Central heating/air makes all the difference.

Yesterday the weather was beautiful here in Houston though! It was in the upper 70’s and the humidity was actually down. It was the coolest it’s been since Hisa and I moved here. It was also sunny with a nice breeze. Ah, it was great. Today it’s hot again (alas), but not too terribly hot. Heck, it’s never gotten as hot as it gets in Oklahoma this summer.

I heard them say on the news last week that the heat was reaching record temperatures of 98 degrees. I had to laugh, because that’s normal in Oklahoma this time of year. Heck, it doesn’t reach record heat in the summer in Oklahoma until it gets to around 116 degrees. If you just shuddered, good for you. You should. It’s horrible. It was especially bad this summer from what I’ve heard. I feel bad for everyone who endured that (my parents included), but I have to say, I’m glad I wasn’t there for it. I’m quite content down here in Houston, despite the generally ridiculous humidity levels. Besides, they have palm trees here! Growing up in Oklahoma, this fact never ceases to thrill me. What can I say, I’m easily amused.

 

Menu Plan for Sept. 10 – 14:

Mon: Minestrone soup and country wheat bread

Tues: Japanese curry with rice and miso soup

Wed: Spaghetti alla puttanesca and tossed salad

Thurs: Salmon patties, fried okra, and homemade mac and cheese

Fri: Chana masala (spicy Indian chickpea stew) and rice

 

 

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Walnut Crusted Dijon Salmon Stuffed Buns aka Kolache

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives


