Menu Plan Monday for August 20 – 24

August 20, 2012 at 8:47 am Leave a comment

Phew, Monday again.

This is my last week of “summer vacation” if you will, because from next week, I’ll be starting classes at a nearby college! Yes, I’m going back to school to study graphic design. This is something I’ve wanted to do for quite a while, so I’m super excited. It’s been four and a half years since I graduated from university, however, so I’m wondering if it’ll feel weird to go back to being a student. Of course, I’m just taking classes part time this semester, but still, it’ll be interesting to get back in the groove.

On another note, I had an awesome Saturday this past weekend! Saturday we celebrated my 26th birthday (my birthday was actually on Thursday, but we celebrated it Saturday).

We went to the museum district to this awesome (and authentic!) Japanese restaurant for lunch. Hisa went there a couple weeks ago with co-workers, and he’d told me good things about it, so I was excited to go. Unlike most “Japanese” food in this part of the country, this place is actually owned by Japanese people, and the chef is also Japanese, so the food is actually authentic Japanese food.
It was great. We had really good sushi (they fly in their fish from the famous Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo) amongst other things, and generally enjoyed ourselves.

Later in the afternoon we had tickets to see Cirque du Soleil (my birthday present from Hisa). As we headed to the venue, we got caught in a downpour, and as we were parking our car it was still pouring. We ended up walking from our car to the Cirque tent with one little umbrella in the downpour. As we were walking, the wind started blowing horribly, and by the time we got to the tent, everything but the front of my torso was dripping wet.

Hisa and I were both wearing jeans, and from the thighs down, our jeans were soaking wet. If you’ve ever worn soaking wet denim, it’s not very fun, trust me. I immediately asked the closest employee where the restroom was so I could attempt to dry myself off a little with paper towels, and the woman informed me that the restrooms were all located…outside.

I did the only thing I could, and laughed. What else can you do but laugh in such a situation? I then raided the napkin dispensers at the concession stand, and attempted to dry myself off a bit with those. Honestly, I was so excited just being there to see Cirque du Soleil (which I’ve wanted to see since I first heard about them in middle school), that I didn’t really care that I was soaking wet. Which is good because I never really did dry off completely.

Cirque du Soleil was absolutely amazing. It was awe-inspiring, magical, suspenseful, funny, extraordinary.
It was fun. Really, really fun.
I recommend it to anyone who has the opportunity to see it. Do it. You won’t regret it.

After the show, we were informed it was flash flooding, and as we descended the stairs from the main tent into the outer tent (they have very high-tech tents), we saw that there was about an inch and a half of water on the ground. We waited for the rain to slow down (which it did amazingly), then headed back to our car without getting rained on too much.

We then headed back to the other end of Houston where we live, and Hisa took me to a little wine bar on the edge of the lake that he’d found out about. It was great. It was in an old 2-story house, full of tables, chairs, and couches all pushed into cozy corners and nooks. The lighting was mainly candlelight, and there was live music being performed by a duet on acoustic guitars. There were people talking, playing chess, and even reading over glasses of wine.

Hisa and I had some champagne (What can I say? I really like champagne), and then we shared a bottle of wine and had a cheese board filled with delicious cheeses, meats, olives, fruits, etc. It was all delicious.
It was a lot of fun, just sitting there talking, drinking wine, and nibbling on cheeses. I would also say it was the perfect ending to a wonderful birthday celebration. And yes, our jeans were still wet. But we didn’t care.

Thai Peanut Noodles with Shrimp

Salad Bar Supper

Menu Plan for Aug. 20 – 24:

Mon: Tostadas with the works

Tues: Thai peanut noodles with shrimp

Wed: Baked rigatoni with roasted squash, ham, and Gorgonzola cheese and tossed salad

Thurs: Salad bar supper

Fri: (eating dinner at Hisa’s co-worker’s house)

 

Entry filed under: Life, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Peanut Butter Cookies Sausage, Sun-dried Tomato, and Spinach Quiche

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


