Menu Plan Monday for August 13 – 17

August 13, 2012 at 10:20 am Leave a comment

Have you ever been to Galveston Island?

It’s a really fun place to visit.

I’d been there a couple times before for vacation, but never for just a Saturday outing.

Now that Hisa and I live only about a 40 minute drive from Galveston, however, we decided to do just that.

Despite the crazy heat, we had fun. We checked out some of the awesome old houses in the historic district before heading over to The Strand.

This is the Bishop’s Palace. It’s like a miniature castle. It was beautiful, and not something I expected to see in Galveston.
Can I live here? Please?

 

The Strand is part of the historic district near the waterfront. It’s streets lined with historical buildings (kind of like an old downtown) that are filled with all kinds of shops and restaurants.

Our favorite place was La King’s Confectionery. Besides being located in a cool historical building, it’s set up like a confectionery (candy store) from the 1920’s. Even the employees uniforms!

One wall was almost completely filled with the candy case, which had every kind of chocolate treat you can imagine (all made in the store). I may have drooled a little, I’m not ashamed to say.

The other wall had a coffee counter (with all kinds of coffee drinks and smoothies), a soda fountain counter (they made soda drinks, floats, shakes, and malts), and a huge ice cream counter.

Hisa ended up having a fruit smoothie and I ended up having some pumpkin pie ice cream, which was fabulous I have to say. There was also a guy making taffy with what looked like an antique taffy making machine. He would throw wrapped pieces of taffy at people watching as he made them. I caught mine. Hisa dropped his. I just thought I’d throw that in there.

After The Strand, we thought we’d check out Moody Gardens, but it ended up being quite expensive, and more than we wanted to spend, so we headed to the beach instead.

We didn’t have time to swim this time around, so we just walked along the beach some, but I told Hisa I want to come back to swim before the summer is over. The beaches at Galveston are not the most beautiful (brown water), but the beaches are fairly clean, there’s a lot of cool restaurants along the beach, and the warm is so warm. That’s my absolute favorite thing about swimming at the Gulf. I hate swimming in freezing cold oceans (i.e. the Pacific), so I love that the water in the Gulf of Mexico is beautifully warm in the summer.

Hisa walking along the beach and being followed by a mysterious arm…

Living near the ocean is cool.
Except for hurricanes. I hope we don’t get hit by any this year…

Menu Plan for August 13 – 17:

Mon: Italian sausage, sun-dried tomato, and spinach quiche; and tossed salad

Tues: Chicken gyros

Wed: Savory waffles topped with roasted sweet potato, crumbled Gorgonzola cheese, cubed ham, chives, browned sage butter, and a poached egg; and roasted asparagus

Thurs: Meatloaf, baked sweet potatoes, and corn on the cob

Fri: Meatloaf sandwiches and tossed salad

Entry filed under: Life, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , .

Gaulois Sandwiches Fajita Shrimp and Veggie Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


