Gaulois Sandwiches

August 8, 2012 at 8:23 am Leave a comment

One of the things I missed while living in Japan was good sandwiches. They don’t really have many sandwich places, so it’s hard to find a good sandwich (No, fast food burger places don’t count. They’re not sandwiches. They’re burgers. They’re different). About the closest you can get is Subway (yes, they have Subway in Japan), and believe me, Hisa and I ate at Subway many times when we were out and wanted a sandwich.

I always like finding new and interesting sandwich recipes. This one sparked my interest as it has pecans, brie cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes in it; A combination I would probably never think to try, but sounded delicious.

Enter the Gaulois sandwich.

From what I found online, this recipe originates from a little cafe in Philadelphia owned by a French couple. I originally found the recipe at Eat, Live, Run, but I’ve found it since then on other websites.

If you’re pressed for time, but want to try something new and somewhat gourmet tasting, I suggest you give this sandwich a try. Unless you’re a vegetarian and/or hate cheese (really? really?!), I think you’ll like this sandwich.

I’m not putting specific amounts for the sandwich ingredients, because everyone is a little different, and likes their sandwiches different ways. Some people may only want one or two slices of ham, whereas some might want four. You may want a lot of cheese or just a dab. Who knows.
I’m just going to list the ingredients, and simply put on as much or as little of each ingredient as you like.

Layer ham, sun-dried tomatoes, and Brie cheese on the bread, then put it under the broiler.

Until the cheese gets all melted and delicious…. Mmmm, melted cheese…..
Add toasted pecan pieces, torn leaf lettuce, and drizzle it with lemon juice and olive oil.
C’est magnifique!

 

Gaulois Sandwiches

  • French baguette or Ciabatta rolls
  • black forest ham
  • Brie cheese, cut into pieces
  • sun-dried tomatoes, diced
  • toasted pecan pieces
  • any leaf lettuce, torn into pieces
  • 1 lemon wedge (per sandwich)
  • drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
  1. Pre-heat the broiled in  your oven or toaster oven.
  2. Cut open the French baguette or Ciabatta roll, and layer the ham, sun-dried tomatoes, and Brie cheese on the bread.
  3. Place under that broiled for a few minutes until the cheese melts. Remove from broiler.
  4. Add pecan pieces and lettuce, then squeeze lemon juice and a light drizzle of olive oil over everything. Serve.

 

Entry filed under: French food, Sandwiches. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for August 6 – 10 Menu Plan Monday for August 13 – 17

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


