I’ve Got a Lovely Bunch of Coconuts…

August 3, 2012 at 8:52 am Leave a comment

If you instantly recognized the title of this post as being from The Lion King, then you have my congratulations. You’re a person after my own heart.

For people of my generation who grew up in the 90’s, it was the golden age of Disney animated movies. We got all the good ones: Aladdin, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Pocahontas, Mulan, etc. Everyone has their favorite. For me, it was The Lion King, hands down.

This movie amazed me. I remember seeing the movie in the theater for the first time. It was the first movie I ever cried at (Mufasa…*sniff*). I loved everything Lion King. I remember drawing the characters in my free time. I would make up stories about Simba (when he was a cub), all while listening to the soundtrack to the movie on cassette tape (in my cute red Sony Walkman with matching red ear phones).

At my elementary school, where every year each grade would put on a musical production of some sort, my grade even got to do a production of The Lion King. I don’t really remember what the performance part entailed so much, but I remember we got to sing all the songs from the movie, which I thought was great.

Yes, The Lion King holds a special place in my heart, and probably always will. So when I was thinking about summer recipes, and then coconut recipes, I instantly thought of the coconut song that Zazu (the bird that acts as Mufasa’s advisor) sings for Scar. Although the song is not originally from the movie (google it), it’s where I first heard it.

I hope someday that my kids can enjoy The Lion King as much as I always have. So in honor of summer (and Zazu’s coconut song), I’ve made a list of delectable coconut recipes I’ve found across the internet. I can’t wait to try some them! I recommend you try some as well, and bring the flavor of the tropics to your home! You can even eat whatever coconut treat you make while watching The Lion King. Channel your inner child, or enjoy it with your kids. Or just make yourself a piña colada and hum the coconut song while drinking it. You can’t beat that.

Piña Colada Sorbet with Sesame Crisps from Blissful Blog. Who can resist a frozen dessert with rum in it?

 

Coconut Cream Crepes from Food Coma. Coconut and dark chocolate! I love desserts that are disguised as breakfast foods. I mean, hey! Crepes are a type of pancake, and pancakes are for breakfast, right? So this is a breakfast food. Don’t argue. My logic is flawless.

 


Coconut Waffles from Pastry Affair. Standard breakfast fare with a delicious coconut-y twist.

 

Coconut Crab Rice from Joy the Baker. Not all coconut treats are sweet! With coconut, crab meat, and fresh cilantro. This looks awesome.

 

Mango Coconut Chia Pudding from Skinny Taste. I really want to try this one. You just combine all the ingredients, let it soak overnight, and the chia seeds expand and become tapioca-like in texture. And it’s healthy! Maybe I’ll try this for breakfast one morning…

 

Lime-Coconut Cupcakes from Bluebonnets and Brownies. Lime and coconut. What a classic combination. Or maybe I’m thinking of coconut and rum…or maybe just coconut rum…

Wait, why is the rum gone…?

(sorry, couldn’t resist)

There are so many more wonderful coconut recipes out there, but I’ll stop here for now.

Go forth now, my children, cook with coconut, and spread the coconut song love!

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts, dee dul dee dee dul dee, there they are standing in a row. Big ones, small ones, ones as big your head…

Entry filed under: Desserts, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Homemade Pizza Menu Plan Monday for August 6 – 10

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


