Banana Bread

July 24, 2012 at 11:14 am 4 comments


If there’s something this world can never have too much of…

it’s banana bread.

Considering that before 1870 (ish), Americans had never even heard of bananas, it’s quite amazing when you think about how predominant in our food culture they’ve become in such a relatively short amount of time (banana pudding, bananas foster, banana and peanut butter sandwiches, chocolate dipped bananas, bananas with cereal, bananas with oatmeal, etc.). Especially considering we don’t even grow bananas in this country. And they’re so cheap! Pretty amazing, right?

I hated bananas when I was a kid.
Okay, that’s kind of an exaggeration, but I didn’t really like them all that much. We often had to eat them, or some other type of fruit, with our breakfast as kids (My parents had this thing about us eating fruit every day. Imagine that).

Now I love bananas. I almost always have a banana with my breakfast, whether in my oatmeal/cereal, with plain yogurt, or by itself. I love my bananas.

One thing I really love: banana bread. I may not have like bananas so much as a kid, but I did love banana bread (weird, right?). There’s something heavenly about the smell of a loaf of banana bread baking. Banana bread, like bananas themselves, really has no season and is good anytime of the year.

This is my go-to recipe for banana bread. Simple. Classic. Delicious.
Try it.

Banana Bread

(makes one loaf)

  • 2 over-ripe bananas, mashed (about 2/3 c.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. melted butter
  • 1/4 c. buttermilk
  • 3/4 c. sugar or sucanat
  • 2 c. unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350° F (175° C).
  2. Beat mashed bananas, egg, butter, sugar, and buttermilk in a large bowl.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a smaller bowl.
  4. Add flour mixture to bowl with liquid mixture and mix. Add in nuts.
  5. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for one hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Note: If top of loaf starts to brown too quickly, cover loaf with aluminum foil for the remaining baking time.
Entry filed under: Baking, Bread, Breakfast & Brunch, Desserts, Recipes, Snack food. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for July 23 – 27 Menu Plan Monday for July 30 – Aug. 3

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  July 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Perfect timing… I’ve been trying to decide on a bread/muffin recipe for breakfasts this week. Banana bread wins!

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  July 28, 2012 at 8:26 pm

      You can never go wrong with banana bread. No matter the time of year or time of day!

      Reply
  • 3. btaylor  |  September 7, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    wish you would make it printer friendly

    Reply
    • 4. rueki86  |  September 14, 2012 at 9:16 am

      I know! I really want to make all my recipes have a “print version” option, but I have to figure out how first…
      It’s definitely in the plans though. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


