Cauliflower Fritters

July 20, 2012 at 7:38 am Leave a comment

Okay, first of all, let me just say, these cauliflower fritters are awesome.

I know what you’re thinking. Cauliflower fritters? That sounds kinda…ew.

I wasn’t sure what to expect with these either, but they far exceeded  my expectations. These are delicious.
After making pizza with a cauliflower crust, I should have realized the wonders of cauliflower, but I was still a little wary.

These are great for dinner, but they would be equally great for breakfast as well. They taste for all the world like they’re made with potatoes. I thought they tasted like a cross between hash browns and potato pancakes. You could definitely feed these to kids as a way to get extra vegetables in them (they go great with ketchup). They would think they’re potatoes. They’ll never know….(insert maniacal laughter here). I don’t have kids (I need to work on that), but when I do someday, I will feed these to them. Amen.

I adapted this recipe from SkinnyTaste, but there are many variations out there if you search. Feel free to add other things to these (maybe more vegetables?!), but I recommend trying them out in their simplest form first. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

 

Serving Suggestion: Serve to unsuspecting children (and adults) who will think they are eating a delicious potato cheese patty sent down from the heavens.

Cauliflower Fritters

(makes about 12 fritters)

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, steamed and roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. shredded cheese
  • 1/4 c. fresh parsley, diced or 1 Tbsp. dried parsley flakes
  • 1/4 c. hot water
  • dash of salt and pepper to taste
  • extra virgin olive oil
  1. Mix everything except the olive oil in a large bowl until well combined.
  2. Heat 1 – 2 Tablespoons of olive oil in a large skillet over med-high heat. Scoop out a heaping 1/4 cup of the cauliflower mixture for each fritter. Cook in the skillet (about four fritters at a time, or whatever your skillet will allow) until golden brown on one side. Flip, and cook on remaining side until golden brown. Serve immediately.
Entry filed under: Recipes, Side dish, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Japanese Tofu Hamburger Steak (豆腐ハンバーグ) Menu Plan Monday for July 23 – 27

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


