Menu Plan Monday for June 25 – 30

June 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm Leave a comment

Finally! A new Menu Plan Monday!

I have to say, it was a crazy busy week last week, but Hisa and I are now in our second week at our new home here in Houston, TX!

Things are a little looking a bit more normal and settled this week.
Last week…well, that’s another story entirely.

We had a lot of car issues last week. Our new car, we had to get a tag and license plate for. It sounds simple enough, but it ended up being extremely, and I mean extremely complicated. It took a grand total of five days, visits to about 5 different city offices, a lot of lines, and numerous phone calls to multiple states before we finally got our plates. And believe me, there were several times I just wanted to curl up in the fetal position in a corner and cry. But! We finally got it done and got our license plate!

Of course then we realized there were two plates. Evidently in Texas you have to have a plate on both the front and back of your car. Since we bought our car in Oklahoma (where we only have back license plates), there was no place to attach a license plate to the front of our car.
We ended up having to go to the Honda dealer, where they had to order that plate holder for us. We went back on Saturday to pick it up, and they attached it for us.

The other major issue we had last week, was our other car (the old one), kept overheating and dying. We ended up having AAA tow it to a nearby auto garage, where they informed us that our car was officially dead, and the only way to repair it would be to put in a new engine, and even that wouldn’t be a guaranteed fix.
Talk about a blow. We were shocked, because until we came to Houston, the car had been running fine. I think it was the humidity that did it. My poor old car just couldn’t handle the climate change…
…or maybe it was just really old.

Either way, we had our fair share of bumps in the road last week. Besides the issues, however, everything else went well.
Hisa started his job, and has been training for that. I registered at a nearby community college where I’m going to be taking classes this fall to get an associate’s degree in graphic design (for those who don’t know, I already have a bachelor’s degree in International Studies, but I’ve found that like many liberal arts degrees, it’s not the most useful when it comes to getting a job). This is something I’ve wanted to do for a few years now, so I’m excited about it.
I’m also looking for a part time job, so I can earn some money while attending school. I would love to do something that would allow me to bake…or cook…or utilize my Japanese language skills… but I haven’t found anything yet. We’ll see what happens.

In the meantime, I’m still trying to get things unpacked here! While our apartment looks soooo much better today than it did a week ago, there’s still quite a lot of things to put away. That’s my mission for today! Haha! Bring it!

Menu Plan for June 25 – 30:
•    Hamburgers with cole slaw
•    Sun-dried tomato pesto pasta salad with cauliflower fritters
•    Fish tacos with creamy avocado cilantro dressing
•    Spicy turkey club sandwiches
•    Vietnamese shrimp vermicelli bowls

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Moving Pains Asparagus and Ham Strata

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


