Southwestern Black Bean Burgers

April 26, 2012 at 9:29 am Leave a comment

I’ve always been a fan of veggie burgers since I discovered them.

I do love my hamburgers (homemade, not fast food burgers. Bleh), but sometimes I just want a veggie burger.

When I was a college student, one of the restaurants on campus had these really good veggie burgers and curly fries. *sigh* I used to get those all the time as a student. They were great. At least in my memory they are, lol.

I’ve tried various veggie burger/black bean burger recipes in the past, and they were okay, but not fabulous.

I found this recipe for black bean burgers on Annie’s Eats, and I was impressed with the result! These were really good southwestern style black bean burgers. They hold together well, have great flavor, and will please even the meat eaters of one’s family I believe.

They’re easy to make to. You just mash your beans up, and the rest of the ingredients, form them into patties, refrigerate them for awhile (to help them firm up and absorb the flavors), and then cook them on a skillet. I recommend making these in the morning or the night before you want to serve them. Then all you have to do is pop them out of the fridge, and cook them. Fast

I served these with baked sweet potato fried, but they’d go great with normal french fries, cole slaw, potato salad, tossed salad, etc.

recipe adapted from Annie’s Eats

Southwestern Black Bean Burgers

(makes 8 – 9 burgers)

  • 2 (15 oz.) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. cumin powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne powder
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 c. fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 green onion, diced
  • 3/4 c. panko bread crumbs

To serve:

  • Hamburger buns
  • lettuce
  • sliced tomato
  • sliced onion
  • pickles
  • sliced cheese
  1. Pour beans into a large bowl. Mash until somewhat smooth, but some whole beans still remain.
  2. Add remaining ingredients, and mix well.
  3. Form mixture into patties of desired size, and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour or up to 24 hours (optional).
  4. Heat 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil in a skillet over med-high heat. Cook burgers until browned on one side (about 5 – 8 min), then flip and cook on remaining side until browned (5 – 8 min).
  5. Serve with toasted hamburger buns, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, sliced cheese, etc.
Entry filed under: Recipes, Sandwiches, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki Sauce Colorado & Utah Vacation – Part I

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


