Asian Turkey Meatballs with Lime Sesame Sauce

April 24, 2012 at 8:57 am Leave a comment

Last Saturday morning I got the closest I’ve ever come to passing out.

It was the weirdest thing. I woke up first, and as my mom usually fixes breakfast on Saturday morning, I relaxed, read for awhile, set the table, etc. By the time we finally ended up eating breakfast (almost an hour and a half after I’d gotten up), I was starving.

It was a wonderful breakfast (cinnamon and raisin scones, turkey sausage, and scrambled eggs), and even after we were done eating, we continued talking for awhile.

About 5 minutes after I finished eating, and while we were talking, I started feeling slightly nauseous. Not only that, but it’s like my body was going numb and getting increasingly heavy at the same time. Finally, it was like someone turned my brain off. I was looking at my mom as she was talking, but it was like she was fading into the distance. I could actually hear her voice receding. I realized I was probably going to either pass out or vomit, so I quickly excused myself to the bathroom, where I promptly sat down, stuck my head between my knees, and concentrated on taking slow, deep breaths. That seemed to do the trick, because my naseau gradually faded and the world faded back in.

When I was sure I was no longer going to vomit or pass out, I headed back to the kitchen table, sat down, and informed my family with as much dignity as I could muster that I’d almost vomited and passed out, wasn’t sure why, but thought I was okay now. Hisa told me I was white as a sheet, as my parents asked what had happened. I explained what happened, and my mom laughed and kindly explained that I’d gone too long without eating, and my blood sugar had probably gotten too low. When I finally ate (too much, too fast), it made me nauseous and almost pass out.

I explained that I’d never almost passed out from not eating before, but she said it doesn’t really matter. Sometimes it can happen, and sometimes it won’t. She reminded me of the incident in which my brother actually did pass out after not eating breakfast (as he was standing on a platform operating one of those huge professional video cameras when he passed out, it ended with an ambulance ride, a concussion, and some stitches), and told me about a time when she almost passed out from not eating.
Next time, she told me, if it’s going to be awhile until I eat breakfast, I should have a banana or some orange juice so my blood sugar won’t get so low.
Lesson learned.

Last weekend, I decided to try out a new Asian recipe I found at Skinny Taste.

They were really easy to make, and really good as well. They reminded me of Japanese niku dango (肉団子), and are actually quite similar to the filling I use when I make Japanese gyoza (pot stickers).

These can be a great side dish, as well as a main dish. I served them with brown fried rice, but they’d also go well with steamed rice, miso soup, and a green vegetable or salad.

In a large bowl, mix 1 lb. of ground turkey, 1 tablespoon ginger paste, 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, 2 teaspoons sesame oil, a dash of salt, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, 3 diced green onions, 1 egg, and 1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs. Mix everything up with your hands (it’s so much easier to mix this way) until it’s all combined. Wash your hands (please don’t forget this step…).

Use about 1/4 cup of the mixture to make each meatball. Roll them around in your hands to form each meatball, and place them on a greased baking sheet. It should make about 12 – 14 meatballs. If you have time, cover the pan and stick it in the refrigerator for an hour or so. This will allow the meat to really absorb the flavors of the seasoning, and make your meatballs that much tastier. If you don’t have time, no worries.
Pre-heat your oven to 450° F.

Bake the meatballs for 15 – 18 minutes, or until cooked through. Let them cool for about 5 minutes.
In the meantime, make your sauce. Mix 4 tablespoons soy sauce, 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, 2 tablespoons water, and one diced green onion. Place the meatballs in a serving bowl, and drizzle them with some of the sauce. Save the rest to serve with the meatballs at the table.

recipe adapted from Skinny Taste

 

Asian Turkey Meatballs with Lime Sesame Sauce

(makes 12 – 14 meatballs)

  • 1 lb. ground turkey meat
  • 1 Tbsp. ginger paste
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 tsp. sesame oil
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 c. chopped cilantro
  • 3 green onions, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. panko bread crumbs

Sesame Lime Sauce:

  • 4 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. water
  • 1 green onion, diced
  1. In a large bowl combine turkey, ginger paste, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, salt, cilantro, green onions, egg, and panko. Mix with your hands until well combined.
  2. Use about 1/4 c. of mixture to make each meatball, rolling the mixture in your hands to form them. Place on a greased baking sheet. Cover and place sheet in refrigerator for 1 hour (optional).
  3. Pre-heat oven to 450° F.
  4. Bake meatballs for 15 – 18 minutes, or until cooked through. Let cool for 5 minutes before placing in a serving bowl.
  5. Mix sauce ingredients in a small bowl. Spoon 1 Tbsp. of the sauce over the meatballs. Serve the rest of the sauce with the meatballs at the table.

Entry filed under: Baking, Chicken, Chinese food, Japanese food, Recipes, Side dish. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for April 23 – 29 Chicken Gyros with Tzatziki Sauce

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


