Marmalade Glazed Ham

April 18, 2012 at 8:19 am Leave a comment

My family never ate ham that much growing up (probably something to do with the face that my dad’s a vegetarian. just a guess), and we never really had a traditional Easter dinner that we ate every year.

Since there was no prerequisite foods that I needed to make, I was able to make whatever I wanted, hehe. I’ve never been a big fan of pork, but I do like ham, so in the end I decided to make an Easter ham.

Having never prepared a whole ham, I turned to the expertise of Martha Stewart. Good ol’ Martha. She never lets me down.
I used her Marmalade Glazed Ham recipe, and I have to say, it was awesome. Easy, and awesome.

I meant to take a picture of some of the sliced ham on my plate with the other food, but by that time I was so hungry that I just wanted to eat. Maybe next time. 😉

You can check out Martha’s original recipe here, or read my take on it below.

Marmalade Glazed Ham

(serves 8)

 

  • 1 smoked bone-in ham (about 10 pounds)
  • 1/2 cup orange marmalade (5 ounces)
  • 3 tablespoons dry sherry
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 navel orange
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Cover ham with parchment paper and then aluminum foil. Place ham, widest side down, on a heavy rimmed baking sheet. Bake for 1 hour.
  3. In a small saucepan over medium heat, heat marmalade, sherry, lemon juice, and juice of 1/2 the orange until runny, about 5 minutes.
  4. Remove ham from oven, and completely remove parchment paper and foil. Score ham all over in a diamond pattern. Brush 1/2 of the glaze over ham. Thinly slice remaining 1/2 orange, and arrange slices over glaze, covering the ham. Use toothpicks to secure.
  5. Increase temperature to 425° F. Bake ham, uncovered, for 20 minutes.
  6. Brush with remaining glaze, and bake until golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes more.
  7. Let rest for 15 to 30 minutes before slicing. Top with orange slices, and serve.

Entry filed under: Baking, Holiday Recipes, Pork, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Roasted Vegetable & Pesto Pizza Scalloped Potatoes With Onions

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


