Menu Plan Monday for April 2 – April 8 (Easter)

April 2, 2012 at 9:31 am Leave a comment

Did everyone have a good weekend?

We had a great weekend here!

Friday was Hisa’s birthday, so we went out to eat to his restaurant of choice (Outback Steakhouse), and then surprised him with presents and cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory when we got home. Good times.

Saturday, we went to a park in the city that has recently been fixed up very nicely. We took the dog (much to his non-stop stop wiggling excitement) and a picnic lunch, walked around the park for awhile, found a nice picnic table to enjoy our lunch, and generally relaxed and enjoyed the lovely weather. Dad and Hisa got out the binoculars and did some bird watching, Mom read some, I sketched for awhile, and we also played some frisbee before packing up and going home. It was a great way to spend a Saturday.

Sunday, after we had special lunch at church for Palm Sunday, but after that we drove to Norman to see the Medieval Fair. When we were kids, we went every year, and my brothers and I would look forward to it for months. None of us had been in years, so we thought it would be fun to go check it out. It’s amazing how much it’s grown, and the number of people there was overwhelming, but it was fun seeing all the craft booths, some of the shows/performances, and all the interesting people there. You will always see very interesting people at Medieval Fairs. And anime/comic conventions. It’s like a law of nature. It makes for good people watching though. 🙂

After the fair, we went to go see the Hunger Games. My mom and I have both read the book, so we were eager to see the movie. My dad and Hisa hadn’t read the book, so they didn’t really know what to expect, but we all enjoyed the movie (although I’m sure my mom and I enjoyed it more from reading the book). I became incredibly tense during the movie, and cried in one part (though I won’t say when for fear of spoiling anything for those who haven’t seen it/read the book), but I thought it was really well made, and a good interpretation of the book.

We got home late last night, so I’m draggin a bit this morning. It was a great weekend though, so it was worth it. It’s strange that it’s been so warm here in Oklahoma though. The high was in the 80’s on Saturday, and it actually got into the 90’s yesterday. We don’t usually see those kinds of temperatures until May here. I hope it isn’t a sign of what this summer will be like… Hisa and I had to unpack (correction, find and unpack) our summer clothes since it’s so warm. I’m glad winter is over though.

Anyway, because we had such a busy weekend here, I didn’t get a whole lot of menu planning done. I know what I’m making this week, but I have no idea what we’re having for Easter (especially since my brother, his wife, my other brother, and his girlfriend are all coming up for the weekend), and if I’m making it or my mom.

It’s been four years since I celebrated Easter with my family, so I don’t know what they usually have for Easter dinner. What’s are some typical Easter dinner dishes? What does your family usually have? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated (hint hint).

Mexican Paradise Pie

Chicken Tikka Masala

 

Menu Plan for April 2 – April 8:

Mon: Asparagus quiche and Ham and spinach quiche, and tossed salad

Tues: Chicken tikka masala and steamed brown rice

Wed: Curry chicken salad sandwiches

Thurs: Baked eggplant parmesan and tossed salad

Fri: Mexican paradise pie

Sat: no idea…

Sun: help…

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Quilting Project #3 (…finally) Vegetarian Lentil Loaf

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


