Quilting Project #3 (…finally)

March 29, 2012 at 9:27 am 4 comments

I finally finished my 3rd ever quilting project last week!

Ta da!

It took the longest of any project yet, because this was the first actual quilt I’ve ever made (albeit a baby quilt, so not quite as large as an full size quilt). Also, because the instructions lied about the fabric amounts, I ended up having to go back to the fabric store to get more fabric (grumble, grumble).

 

There were plenty of mistakes made, so it’s far from perfect, but considering it’s the first quilt I’ve ever made, I’m really happy with it!

 

I made this baby quilt for my nephew, who was born last December. The back is made with a really soft flannel material, so hopefully it’ll be super comfortable and warm (it’s still pretty cold in Japan).

 

I haven’t decided what my next quilting project will be yet. Maybe something smaller than an actual quilt. I have several sewing projects I want to work on first… Hopefully I can get those done soon!

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: , , , , .

Sesame Chicken (the non-deep fried version) Menu Plan Monday for April 2 – April 8 (Easter)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ginny Mize  |  March 29, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Hi Rach. Noticed the back isn’t as smooth as I bet you would like. Here is a tip. When putting your three layers together lay the back on the floor if you can and use tape to smmoth and tape it down smooth. Then sandwich your other two layers and pin or baste it together well. You will have a smooth back when quilted.

    You can also do a very large quilt by quilting it in sections and then putting it together. Go on line and google ‘quilt as you go’ and there you can find several ways to do this.

    If I can be of help just let me know.

    Gin

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  March 30, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Hi Ginny. I have a quilting 101 book that I’m learning from, and it suggested taping the backing down. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a work surface large enough to tape it too, lol.
      Next time I’ll definitely try taping it down though, even if I have to tape it to the floor!
      Thanks for the tip! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Jayne  |  April 2, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Beautiful job!

    Reply
    • 4. rueki86  |  April 3, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      Thank you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


