Grilled Fish Tacos with Avocado Cilantro Cream Sauce

March 27, 2012 at 9:47 am Leave a comment

I don’t remember the first time I had fish tacos. I guess it was probably a few years ago when they first started becoming popular.

I’ve always loved fish though, so I thought they were a great idea from the get go.

Making fish tacos myself, however, is a more recent thing. I think the first time I made them was probably a year or so ago.

As I’ve said before, I don’t like deep frying things, so I usually bake, pan fry, or grill my fish (much like my homemade fish sticks).

My fish tacos are the same. For these I pan fried the fish, but you could also grill it. They’re fast and delicious either way. The avocado cream sauce is also very easy. Just throw everything in a food processor, whiz it, and you’re good to go.
You can use pretty much any kind of white fish you like for these. Heck, you could probably even use a none-white fish, such as salmon, for these. I’ve never tried it, but it’d probably work fine.

Okay, first, mix the spice rub for your fish. It consists of cumin, chili powder, coriander, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper.

 

Rinse and pat dry your fish fillets. Make sure you get boneless skinless fillets. Picking bones out of your fish tacos is not fun. I know, because I’ve done it. One word: messy.
Place the fillets on a baking sheet. Rub the spice rub all over both sides of the fillets. Let them set for a few minutes while you heat up your skillet/grill/oven.

 

Meanwhile, add a peeled, deseeded avocado, plain yogurt, a little mayonnaise, fresh lime juice, fresh cilantro, a little honey, and a little onion powder to your food processor. Process until smooth and lovely.

 

See? Lovely.

 

Pan fry, grill, or bake your fish fillets until flakey. I pan fried mine in a little olive oil. Delicious.

 

Chop the fish fillets up however small you want them, and serve it with the avocado cream sauce, cole slaw mix (shredded cabbage), fresh cilantro, fresh lime juice or lime wedges, shredded cheese, and warmed flour or corn tortillas.

 

We had corn and flour tortillas, because my dad prefers corn tortillas and I prefer flour tortillas. Even with enchiladas I prefer flour tortillas, which some people might think is sacrilege. I say, eat whichever you like. That’s just how I roll. Viva la flour tortillas! 🙂

Grilled Fish Tacos with Avocado Cream Sauce

(serves 4)

  • About 16 oz. boneless skinless fillets of white fish
  • 2 tsp. cumin powder
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. dried coriander
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/8 tsp. salt and pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
for the avocado cream sauce:
  • 1 avocado, peeled and de-seeded
  • 1/3 c. plain yogurt
  • 2 tsp. mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 c. chopped cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/8 tsp. onion powder

to serve:

  • corn or flour tortillas
  • cole slaw mix
  • fresh cilantro
  • shredded cheese
  • lime wedges or fresh lime juice
  1. Mix the cumin, chili powder, coriander, cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper in a small bowl.
  2. Rinse and pat fish fillets dry, and place on a baking sheet or large plate. Rub the spice mixture into both sides of fillets. Set aside and begin heating a skillet with olive oil over medium high heat (if pan frying), or a grill set on medium.
  3. In a food processor, add avocado, yogurt, mayonnaise, lime juice, cilantro, honey, and onion powder. Process until smooth. Pour into a small serving bowl.
  4. Fry or grill fish fillets, turning them over once while cooking, until cooked through and flakey.
  5. Heat up tortillas on the stove or grill.
  6. To serve, place some fish, avocado cream sauce, shredded cabbage, fresh cilantro, and shredded cheese (optional), all in a warm tortilla. Squeeze some fresh lime juice over if desired, and eat.
Entry filed under: Recipes, Seafood, Tex-mex food. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for March 26 – April 1 Sesame Chicken (the non-deep fried version)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


