Cauliflower Crust Pizza

March 15, 2012 at 9:36 am 11 comments

My brother sent me a link to this recipe for cauliflower crust pizza, suggesting I try it out, a couple of weeks ago. I’d never heard of such a thing, but I was intrigued. Cauliflower as a substitute for bread. Who’d ever heard of such a thing? Would it hold together? Would it taste weird? I decided I should try it out.

I didn’t tell my family what was in it, and instead, made them guess. My dad and my husband could never guess what it was. They both thought it must have corn meal and/or potatoes in it. My mom was the only one who guessed correctly, as, she told me later, she’d made a mashed potato substitute with cauliflower before, and therefore recognized the texture.

This crust was delicious.
It held together wonderfully (although it’s something that’s easier to eat with a fork and knife rather than your hands), and tasted nothing like cauliflower. It reminded me of a crust made out of polenta with possibly some potato or flour added to it. It was really good!

If you’re gluten intolerant, trying to cut back on carbs, or just want to try something different a little bit healthier than regular pizza, you should really try this out! I was pleasantly surprised!

First, wash off a head of cauliflower and take off the leaves. Chop it up, and pulse it in your food processor in batches until it turns all crumbly. You should end up with about 6 cups of riced cauliflower (if it’s a large head. If your supermarket only has small heads, you might buy two).

This is the texture you want. Don’t pulse it too much or it’ll get watery. Dump it all in a microwave safe bowl, and microwave it, uncovered, for 8 minutes.

Add 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese, 1/2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, 2 tsp. dried oregano, and 1/2 tsp. salt. Mix everything well, and then adjust the seasoning to taste.

Add three eggs, and mix everything up well.

Pour out onto a sprayed baking sheet. Spread the cauliflower mixture around evenly so it fills up almost the entire pan. Bake in a 450° F oven for 15 minutes.

It’ll get slightly browned on top and around the edges, and it’ll smell fantastic!

Add pizza sauce (I just use my homemade marinara sauce), shredded cheese, and the cooked toppings of your choice. I used onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, olives, and cooked turkey sausage. I also sprinkled on a little extra cheese on top after taking this picture. Because you can never really have too much cheese.
Pop it back in the oven for about 5 minutes (until the cheese melts), cut it into slices, and serve!

 

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

(serves 4 – 5)

  • 6 – 7 c. riced cauliflower (one large head)
  • 1/2 c. shredded parmesan
  • 1/2 c. shredded mozzarella
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 eggs
  • pizza sauce
  • shredded cheese
  • cooked pizza toppings of your choice
  1. Pre-heat oven to 450° F.
  2. Wash cauliflower head, remove leaves and stem, and chop up. Add to food processor and pulse until it ressembles coarse crumbs (don’t over pulse so that it becomes watery).
  3. Add riced cauliflower to a microwave safe bowl. Microwave, uncovered, for 8 minutes.
  4. Add cheese, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, and salt. Mix well. Adjust seasoning to taste.
  5. Add eggs, and mix well.
  6. Pour out onto a greased baking sheet. Spread out evenly. Bake for 15 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven. Add pizza sauce, shredded cheese, and toppings.
  8. Bake for about 5 minutes, or until the cheese melts.
  9. Remove from oven, cut into slices, and serve.

Recipe adapted from Eat. Drink. Smile.

Entry filed under: Baking, Italian food, Recipes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

St. Patrick’s Day Clover Cookies & Ice Cream Lacto-fermentation and You (i.e. Why Making Your Own Sauerkraut & Sourdough Bread is Important)

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jen  |  March 23, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    yum!

    Reply
  • 2. jen  |  March 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    hello…

    Reply
  • 3. CAS  |  March 25, 2012 at 8:18 am

    Just discovered your blog, because you started following me on Pinterest. I’ve been pinning away since you have some amazing recipe ideas. I will be checking in often. Oh, I’m also following on Pinterest!
    CAS

    Reply
  • 4. Lyndsey  |  May 13, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    I made this tonight and my crust was a little soggy. Do you need to make the crust really really thin?

    Reply
    • 5. rueki86  |  May 14, 2012 at 7:59 am

      My crust wasn’t particularly super thin, but you don’t want it too thick. One thing that might help, when you pulse the cauliflower in the food processor, process it just until it becomes crumbly, then stop. If you process it took much, it’ll release its juices and get watery.
      Did you bake it the 15 minutes by itself (i.e. before any added sauce or toppings) at 450 degrees?
      The crust will have some liquid in it, as it isn’t bread, but I don’t recall mine being watery.
      I hope some of these suggestions work for you! If could just be you had an especially juicy cauliflower, in which case you’ll just need to tweak the recipe for that. Good luck!

      Reply
  • 6. Megan  |  May 18, 2012 at 12:40 am

    I must say I was a bit skeptical and bought “real” pizza dough as a back-up…but turns out we didn’t need it! The pizza crust was delicious! It didn’t taste at all like I had expected (as in, it didn’t taste like cauliflower) and browned nicely in the oven. Yum! I’d be happy to make it again for a nice change of pace with pizza!

    Reply
  • 7. april  |  August 10, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    What can i do besides microwave the cauliflower? I don’t own/like microwaves.

    Reply
    • 8. rueki86  |  August 11, 2012 at 9:04 am

      You can steam the cauliflower in a pot on the stove until it’s tender. That works fine too. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. RobinL  |  September 3, 2012 at 11:00 pm

    I’ve made this quite a few times. Although it’s delicious, the bottom of the crust keeps coming out soggy. Any suggestions? Thank you.

    Reply
    • 10. rueki86  |  September 4, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Hmmm, I can think of a couple things that might be causing it. When you process it in the food processor, be sure you don’t process it too much, or it’ll get watery. If it’s watery after processing (even if you didn’t over do it), you might try soaking up some of the extra liquid with a paper towel. The same goes for after you microwave it. If you notice extra water in the bowl, try to soak it up or drain it off.
      You might also try making the crust thinner. If you have it too thick, it might cause the inside of the crust to be soggy. I would also try baking the crust longer. You don’t want to burn it of course, but it should feel dry to the touch when it’s done.
      I hope one of these suggestions works for you!

      Reply
  • 11. Jen  |  November 5, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    I grated my cauliflower with my cheese grater and didn’t steam it. I also only used 2 cups of cauliflower and 2 eggs but I was only feeding 3 people I did Add about 2 tablespoons of crushed garlic to an it was very very good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


