Sewing Project #2 – Pajama Pants

February 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm Leave a comment

I actually finished this over a week ago, but I didn’t get around to taking pictures of it until, um, about 10 minutes ago.

For my second sewing project, I made a pair of flannel pajama pants for Hisa for Valentine’s Day. This was the first item of clothing I’ve ever sewn, so they certainly didn’t come out perfect, but Hisa seemed happy enough that I made them for him.

Besides being the first item of clothing I’ve ever sewn (I don’t think the apron really counts as clothing), this was the first time I’ve sewn anything with elastic in it, and the first time I’ve sewn a zig-zag stitch. I made the elastic a little too loose in the end (sorry Honey), but it was fun watching the sewing needle make the zig-zag stitch.

Besides the elastic, these pants were pretty easy to make.

Lessons learned:

  • Make the elastic slightly tighter than you measured it.
  • Make sure to check the width of the fabric when you buy it, so you’ll know it’s wide enough as well as long enough for your pattern pieces.

My next project is going to be the hardest yet… a dress. A simple dress, but a dress nonetheless.

Wish me luck…

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: , , , , .

Mexican Paradise Pie My First Knitting Project Ever

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Archives


