Sewing Project #1

February 17, 2012 at 9:43 am Leave a comment

Besides quilting, I’ve also taken up sewing recently, with the help of my mom.

One of the bonuses of staying with my parents while Hisa looks for a job (besides not having to pay rent and getting to spend a lot of time with my parents), is that I can use my mom’s sewing machine whenever I want, and my mom, who’s a good seamstress, can help me out whenever I need it.

I bought a book with simple beginner sewing projects recently, and an apron was the first project I decided to make. It looked simple, and fairly straight forward, so I thought it would be a good first project. These things always end up taking longer that I think they will though…

I’ve found that for me, the hardest part is laying out the fabric and putting the pattern on properly. I have no idea why this is the hard part. It’s like with quilting, the hardest part is laying out the fabric, cutting off the selvages and sides, and cutting out the actual pieces straight. It’s actually quite difficult to cut out fabric out in a perfectly straight line.

If anyone has any tips for me, start writing those comments! …please?

All things considered, I’m quite pleased with how my apron came out. I like the blue fabric. I think it has kind of a vintage-y look.

Best of all, you can’t see any of my mistakes in these pictures! Ha!

Coming soon… sewing project #2 and (hopefully someday) quilting project #3…

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: , , , .

Balsamic Chicken Menu Plan Monday for Feb. 20 – 26

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Archives


