Salmon Patties

February 10, 2012 at 9:54 am Leave a comment

I heard somewhere recently that salmon patties are considered southern food. I have to admit, I had no idea! I grew up eating my mom’s salmon patties, and have always loved them, but never really thought about what region’s cuisine they originated from.

I guess it makes sense that they’re southern food. We always ate them with things like fried okra, fried potatoes, mac and cheese, etc. All really good, southern comfort food.

That’s one of the great things about Oklahoma. We’re considered part of the south as well as part of the southwest. As a result of this, we have to foods of both regions.

Oklahoma Tex-mex? Amazing!

Oklahoma southern food? Delicious!

Needless to say, neither southern food nor southwestern food are the healthiest of cuisines, so obesity is a major problem in Oklahoma. There are, however, healthy ways of cooking and healthier things you can cook from both cuisines. It’s all about the ingredients you use (ex. yogurt instead of sour cream), how you cook it (ex. baking instead of frying), and proportion (small portions of calorie rich foods). With a bit of creativity it can be done!

For instance, these salmon patties contain nothing unhealthy, and instead of frying them in a lot of butter or (heaven help us) breading and deep frying them, I spray a pan with cooking spray and then add a tablespoon or so of extra virgin olive oil to lightly fry them in.

Also, a lot of salmon patties I’ve had are rather bland and boring, but my these salmon patties are very flavorful and have a slight tangy kick to them. The secret, my friends, is in the mustard. It will do wonders for your salmon patties. Trust me. I like to use dijon mustard, but use whatever kind you like.

This salmon patty recipe has been passed down for several generations. My mom made them this way, my grandma made them this way. Possibly even my great-grandma made them this way (I’d have to check with my grandma). They’re incredibly simple, very fast, and extremely tasty.

These salmon patties are great by themselves, but if you want a sauce on top, there are many good choices. In my family, everyone has a different sauce they like on theirs. I like just ketchup or mayonnaise, my dad likes Worcestershire sauce, my mom likes A1 sauce or barbecue sauce, and I think one of my brothers likes them with tartar sauce (but I forget). Experiment and see what you like on yours, or eat them in their pure form like my husband often does.

Serve these with some homemade macaroni and cheese and fried okra if you want some real comfort food, or with a fresh tossed salad and a baked sweet potato if you want something healthier, but still delicious.

Salmon Patties

(serves 6 – 7)

  • 2 (14 oz.) cans salmon
  • 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. dijon mustard (or mustard of your choice)
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. panko bread crumbs
  • dash of salt and pepper
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with cooking spray and add olive oil.
  3. Form mixture into patties and place on skillet. Cook until brown on bottom (5 – 8 min), then flip and cook on the other side until brown.
  4. Repeat with remaining mixture until completely used up.
  5. Serve with sauce of your choice.

Slightly blurry salmon patties (my bad), homemade mac and cheese, and fried okra.

Entry filed under: Seafood. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Greek Cabbage Rolls Valentine’s Chocolate Chip Heart Pancakes with Raspberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Archives


