Menu Plan Monday for January 23 – 29

January 24, 2012 at 7:59 am Leave a comment

I was suddenly hit with the craft bug this weekend, and decided to take up quilting.

It was sort of a spur of the moment thing, but also not, as I’ve been interested in quilting for some time. I didn’t really bother with it in Japan, however, as I didn’t have a sewing machine, and didn’t want to buy the equipment for it and then have to bring it back to the U.S. with me.

When we went to the fabric store for something completely unrelated this weekend, however, I realized that now would be the perfect time to start something like this. Hisa and I are in a kind of unemployed limbo at the moment, staying with my parents while Hisa looks for a job, and, well, I have a lot of free time on my hands as a result.
Not only that, but I can use my mom’s sewing machine while we’re here. I can try out quilting using her machine and decide if quilting is something I want to stick with or not, without having to buy my own sewing machine up front.

While I was thinking about this, I realized there are a lot of things my mom could help me learn while we’re staying here besides just quilting. There’s sewing, crocheting, and knitting too! I’m terrible at sewing (unless it’s hand sewing), the only thing I can crochet is a scarf, and I’ve never even attempted knitting before.

My mom said she would be happy to help me with anything I’d like to learn, so I’m rather excited about learning some new skills while we’re here.

I had some issues with sewing machines when I first learned how to use one in high school. Basically, I came to the conclusion that sewing machines hate me. Why else would the thread get tangled up and the needle break every time I even touched the machine?!
Okay, so maybe it wasn’t every time, but it sure felt like it…

Anyway, I’m excited about starting some new projects in the coming days/weeks. If I create anything beautiful/wonderful/awe-inspiring that looks decent and that I’m pleased with, I might post some pictures. I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉

I also have a bunch of new recipes to try out this week, so look out for new posts this week! Yay for motivation!

Menu Plan Monday for Jan. 23 – 29:

Mon – Salmon en croûte (pronounced [kroot]; basically “salmon in crust”) and tossed salad

Tues – Rigatoni with tomatoes, eggplant, and fresh mozzarella and tossed salad

Wed – Acorn squash soup and four grain batter bread

Thurs – Ratatouille with white fish and focaccia bread

Fri – (eating out)

SatChana masala and turmeric rice

Sun – Pulled pork on ciabatta rolls, baked sweet potatoes, and sauteed green beans

 

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , , , , .

Reuban Sandwiches Salmon en Croûte (salmon wrapped in puff pastry)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


