Reuban Sandwiches

January 21, 2012 at 3:09 am Leave a comment

For those of you who don’t know how to make a Reuben sandwich…
have never had a Reuben sandwich…
or (dare I say it?) don’t know what a Reuben sandwich is…

This post is for you.

I had my first Reuben sandwich in years last night, and it was a lovely thing indeed.

Hey there sexy…

Although exactly who invented the Reuben sandwich is a bit fuzzy, it seems to have been invented in sometime in the first have of the 20th century by someone name Reuben. How vague is that, right? But it’s such a good sandwich, who cares really? I know I don’t. 🙂


Here’s the basics of a Reuben sandwich:

It’s a hot sandwich with sauerkraut, sliced meat (either pastrami or corned beef), Swiss cheese, and dressing (either Thousand Island or Russian) on either rye or pumpernickel bread.

To make mine, I spread Thousand Island dressing on one side of all the slices of bread, then covered half the slices with Swiss cheese, half the slices with sliced pastrami and sauerkraut, and then stuck the pan under the broiler until they were hot and the cheese was melted. You could also just toast them in the toaster.

There’s several variations of the sandwich, but I’m not really familiar with them. Why mess with a good thing, right? I like the classic.

Reuben sandwiches, like most sandwiches, go well with chips, soups, salads, and coleslaw. I served mine with coleslaw.

I’m going to go have make me another Reuben for lunch now, hehe.

Entry filed under: Beef, Bread, Recipes, Sandwiches. Tags: , , , , , .

Salad Bar Dinner Menu Plan Monday for January 23 – 29

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


