Menu Plan Monday for January 16 – 22

January 17, 2012 at 1:35 am Leave a comment

Happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day! I didn’t realize today was a holiday until Saturday when my parents told me they wouldn’t have work on Monday.

As today is a holiday and the weather is fairly nice, Hisa and I are going to help my parents get rid of some stuff in their garage. Saturday we got rid of some of my old furniture and several boxes of my parents’ things, and took it all to Goodwill, but there’s still stuff that needs to go.

Doing anything in my parents’ garage is always quite an adventure. Like many Americans with big garages, it’s very much full of stuff (Americans, we love our stuff). It’s not just towering shelves stuffed with everything from Christmas decorations, to gardening equipment, to old baby toys; and stacks of boxes towering to astounding heights. No, no. There’s also an entire colony of Fiddle Back spiders (also known as Brown Recluses) living in every crack, crevice, and cranny.

Every piece of furniture, every box, every single thing we moved, had to be checked for spiders. And most of them had at least one spider on them. BIG spiders. It was horrifying. There’s not normally this many spiders in the garage, but because last summer was so incredibly hot for so long, they multiplied like rabbits (albeit tiny, eight-legged, fanged rabbits from hell). And for me, who hates spiders with a passion, and who was bit twice by Fiddle Backs when I was in high school, working in the garage is like a fight for survival that takes every ounce of courage I can muster.

And on that note, I leave you to journey back out into the garage, work gloves on and broom in hand.
Wish me luck.

Menu Plan for January 16 – 22:

  • Mon: Club salads (all the toppings are laid out for everyone to make their own)
  • Tues: Black bean soup and bread
  • Wed: Reuben sandwiches and leftover black bean soup
  • Thurs: Grilled veggie wraps
  • Fri: Eating out
  • Sat: Tacos
  • Sun: I haven’t decided yet, but I’m thinking to make pot roast
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Classic Lasagna Portabello Mushroom Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


