Menu Plan Monday for January 9 – 13

January 10, 2012 at 1:19 am 2 comments

Did anybody watch the premiere of Season 2 of Downton Abbey on PBS last night?

[WARNING: The following paragraphs contain a substantial amount of nerdiness. Proceed at your own risk.]

<nerdiness>

For those who don’t know, I have a thing for BBC period dramas. Especially Victorian period dramas. I’ve seen the majority of the more well known series: Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, Emma, Jane Eyre, etc. I’ve also seen some of the more recent series (Little Dorrit, North and South, etc.). I was unable to watch Downton Abbey when it first came out, however, as I was in Japan at the time.

My parents just recently got Netflix instant streaming through their Nintendo Wii (yes, my parents own a Nintendo Wii. They’re cool like that), and I discovered they had Downton Abbey. I immediately started watching the series last Friday, loved it, and discovered that season 2 was to premiere on Sunday. What ensued was a weekend marathon of Downton Abbey. I had to finish all of season one so I would be ready for the premiere of season 2! My mom had already seen season 1, but she watched it all with me anyway (Victorian drama nerdiness is genetic, right?).

Yesterday, we ended up watching 5 hours of Downton Abbey; The last three episodes of season 1, and the 2 hour premiere of season 2. Poor Hisa. He didn’t see me most of yesterday afternoon or evening. He’s not interested in Victorian period dramas (I just don’t know why…), so he spent most of the afternoon and evening in our bedroom on his laptop, working on stuff. He said he didn’t mind though. Famous last words! Ahahahaha! No, not really. I don’t normally do marathons of TV shows.

Anyway, if you saw the premiere last night, wasn’t it awesome?!

If you didn’t see it, but it sounds interesting, you should really watch it! It’s great!

If you have no clue what I’ve been talking about, and you could care less, you have my apologies. You should still watch it though.

</nerdiness>

Menu Plan for January 9 – 13:

Lasagna and tossed salad

Gyoza (Japanese pot stickers), miso soup, sesame green beans, and baked sweet potatoes

Beef stroganoff and tossed salad

Tomato soup and grilled ham and cheese sandwiches

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , , , , .

Vegetarian Black Bean Burritos Vegetarian Mushroom Bolognese Sauce

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsten  |  January 10, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Yum! Tomato soup with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. I had temporarity forgotten about grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. These are definitely going on the menu for this week.

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  January 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

      What would life be without tomato soup with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches? Very sad indeed. Especially on cold, dreary winter days. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


