Menu Plan Monday for Dec. 19 – 25

December 20, 2011 at 2:15 am Leave a comment

First of all, let me just say that it’s good to be back home in the States with my family!

Second, I just want to say that four people in one house sharing one really old computer (It has a floppy drive. Need I say more?) with a slow internet connection is a BAD idea. Bad bad bad. Especially when one of those people is a food blogger (me), and another is in the middle of searching for a job online (Hisa).  I dream of WiFi… And using my laptop again…

Not that I’ve had much time to be on the computer during the brief intervals my husband hasn’t been on it. Since we got back to the U.S., I’ve been quite busy taking care of things involved with moving back to the country. This includes things like renewing my driver’s license, making sure I’m still capable of driving on the right side of the road, helping my parents put up Christmas lights outside, finishing my Christmas shopping, Changing my name on official documents now that I have a notarized copy of our Japanese marriage license (everyone has misspelled my married Japanese name. Yay…), helping my mom with the church’s Christmas banquet, etc.

Our first few days back home were pretty much a jet-lag induced blur. Needless to say, we didn’t get a whole lot done those first few days. We spent most of our energy just trying to stay awake while it was light out. By the end of the week, although our jet-lag was getting better, Hisa caught a cold (again) and spent the weekend recovering from that.

Last week is when we managed to get most of the things I mentioned above completed. When we were actually home, Hisa has been fervently researching available job positions online, leaving me with no other option than to spend my time playing on my mom’s Nintendo Wii… It’s a hard life.

No, but really, I’ve pretty much been doing all the cooking since we got back. My mom is a great cook, and a lot of what I know about cooking I learned from my mom, but after 20+ years of cooking every day, she got kinda burned out on it and semi-retired from cooking all the meals after I went away to college.

Not that I mind. I’m happy to cook for my parents and husband. I enjoy it (as long as they help with the clean up).

I’ve mainly been cooking some of my staple dishes (i.e. things I’ve already posted), but I’ve got some new dishes I’m going to be trying out this week, and some dishes I love, but have never posted about before, so I should have some good recipes for you this week!

I can’t believe it’s the final week before Christmas! As Christmas is on a Sunday this year, and my dad is a minister, the weekend is going to be a little bit crazy, but it should still be a lot of fun!


Menu Plan for Monday Dec. 19 – 25:

Monday:  Puff Pastry Pie – Ground meat and vegetables covered with herb white sauce and sandwiched between to pieces of puff pastry. This is one of my mom’s recipes.

Tuesday: Chicken korma and rice with salad

Wednesday: Stuffed acorn squash and dressed asparagus

Thursday: Ginger sesame sword fish, fried okra, and baked sweet potatoes

Friday: Eating out

Saturday (Christmas eve):

breakfast: Sausage, egg, and cheese bread

dinner: Chicken enchiladas and Mexican black beans (my family has a tradition of eating enchiladas on Christmas eve.

Sunday (Christmas):

breakfast: Cinnamon rolls and quiche

Christmas dinner: Roasted turkey, cornbread and biscuit dressing, maple sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, Brussels sprouts, pea salad, fresh dinner rolls, green bean salad, cranberry sauce, and for dessert, pumpkin cheesecake with a ginger snap crust.

 

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , .

My Honeymoon Adventure – Part IV (final) Puff Pastry Pie

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


