My Honeymoon Adventure: Part I

December 2, 2011 at 12:09 pm 2 comments

I’m baaaaack!

For some reason, when I typed that I was thinking it in a creepy Poltergeist “They’re heeeeeere” voice.

I was emotionally damaged by that movie when my parents showed it to me at the age of seven. It scared the living daylights out of me. As a result I’ve been terrified of ghost movies (and most scary movies in general) ever since.

Moral of the story: Don’t show scary movies to your seven-year-olds.

Or me.

Have a great day! Bye!!!

No, I’m just kidding. I wouldn’t leave you hanging like that.

Hisa and I got back from our trip on Tuesday, and have since been recovering.

We a had a great time! Except for the fact that on the second day of our trip, I caught a cold and was sick most of the trip. On the second to last day, Hisa caught my cold from me (sorry, Honey), and is currently recovering.

I caught a cold 3 days before my wedding in Hawaii, so I guess it just figures that I also caught a cold on our honeymoon. Now that I think about it though, it’s not entirely surprising. Right before our trip we were crazy busy trying to get ready to move, Hisa was finishing up at his work, then we had the actual move, and as soon as that was all over, we went on our trip. I think there was definitely some fatigue and stress built up, so that once I was finally able to relax, it manifested itself in the form of a cold. I just wish it hadn’t been on my honeymoon, lol.

Me after catching a cold. Yes, people wear masks when they’re sick in Japan (and when you’re throat is sore, it keeps the air you breath all warm and moist and lovely), so you see people wearing masks everywhere. Now, wearing sunglasses and a mask is a bit more unusual. I could never decide if I looked more like a movie star in disguise or like I was about to mug someone.


Hisa now with a cold on the last day of our trip. He decided not to wear his sunglasses so he wouldn’t look like a mugger.

We still had fun though! My throat was only horribly sore on the first day of my cold, and after that I mainly dealt with the runny nose, stuffy head, no energy bit, and honestly, as long it my throat isn’t sore, I can cope with the rest.

We started our trip down south in Hiroshima and worked our way back up north, visiting different cities along the way.

In Hiroshima, we visited the A-bomb Dome (above), the Peace Memorial Park, and the Memorial Museum; all related with the nuclear bomb that was dropped on Hiroshima at the end of WWII. The bomb exploded almost directly over the dome building, but it was one of the few standing structures left. It was left as it was as a reminder of the tragedy.

We also visited Hiroshima Castle. The original castle was destroyed in WWII, but they rebuilt it in the 50’s. Unfortunately, since it’s not the original castle, the inside is more like a museum than a castle. Elevators and all.

For dinner our first night in Hiroshima, we tried out Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki. Unlike regular okonomiyaki, in Hiroshima it’s cooked with noodles in it. Hisa’s had a mix of seafood and meat in his (and a lot of green onions on top).

Mine was mainly a seafood version (shrimp, scallops, squid, oysters, etc.), and very delicious.

After dinner, we walked along one of the main streets in the city, where there were Christmas light displays all along the road. This was one of my favorites. The trees were filled with maple leaf lights. It’s kind of hard to tell in the picture, but each light was in the shape of a maple leaf.

I also liked this boat a lot.

Yay!!

Here’s Hisa and me inside one of the light displays. Awww, aren’t we cute?

 

The next day, we took a ferry to Miyajima, an island near to Hiroshima, and I started feeling progressively worse and worse throughout the day. The island is famous for the giant tori (temple gate) in the water, but unless you go during the high tide it’s more a giant tori in the sand. Here’s Hisa and I posing in front of the tori. Let me just point out that I was feeling pretty crappy by this point.

Here’s a picture of the shrine, Utsukushima Shrine, that the giant tori gate goes with. During high tide the sandy area is all water. Don’t be fooled by the green trees and mist in the mountains. It was cooold.

One fun thing about the island, is that there were wild deer everywhere. I say “wild” with hesitation, because these deer were so used to the huge crowds of people, that they would just walk around the people looking for handouts. They didn’t even mind if people touched them. Nothing seemed to bother these guys.

Hisa petting one of the many deer. Deer hoping for food, and being thoroughly disgusted with Hisa for not obliging.

For lunch, we found a little restaurant that served anago-don, grilled eel served over rice. It’s a specialty of the Hiroshima/Miyajima area, and as I absolutely love Japanese unagi and anago (both types of eel), I had to have some. I was not disappointed. It was gooood!

We left the island in the evening, and by the time we got back to Hiroshima, and found a place to eat, I was so exhausted and miserable feeling that I didn’t even think to take a picture of our dinner (we had ramen).

I did, however, remember to take a picture of our momiji manju once we got back to our hotel. This is another specialty food of Hiroshima. Manju is kind of like a little cake filled with sweet red bean paste (called anko). They make them with all different fillings though, and as I’m not a fan of anko, we bought other varieties to try, including cream cheese, apple cinnamon, chocolate, custard, and sweet potato. The Hiroshima manju are different from others because they’re in the shape of a Japanese maple leaf (momiji). Why, I honestly don’t know. But hey! They were pretty tasty!

Hisa also tried out the local beer, “Miyajima beer”.  I don’t remember if he liked it or not, because I was on the verge of passing out. Fortunately, with the help of tylonol pm, a humidifier, and various medicinal drinks for colds from a nearby convenience store, my throat was much improved the next morning, and I was able to once again enjoy myself.

The next day, we traveled to Himeji to see Himeji Castle. Himeji Castle is supposed to be the best castle to see in Japan. The people actually covered the castle with a type of dark camouflage netting to protect it from the air raids in WWII, so it’s also one of the few castles that wasn’t destroyed during the war by American bombers. Unlike a lot of other castles, most of it’s walls, towers, and surrounding buildings are still in tact, so you can explore more than just the main castle.

Naturally, we decided to visit the castle when they were in the process of restoring it for the first time since the 1950’s. Opps. The entire main castle is enclosed in a building with a picture of the castle on the side of it. Yay…

Fortunately, there was still plenty to see. In one building, they had a display of samurai armor. If you’ve ever seen samurai armor in person, it’s always surprising to see just how tiny they must have been in life. Having one of those guys charging at you would still be terrifying though.

We were able to go up into the castle to see the process of the restoration, and it also had a pretty good view of the grounds.

It was really cool to walk around the grounds of the castle. Every aspect of the castle is about defense. The walls, the moats, the steep stairs, and huge metal gates.

Just about every wall had holes for rifles and archers, not to mention the places where they could dump rocks, burning coals, and boiling oil on intruders.

After leaving Himeji, we traveled to Kobe, where we went on a dinner cruise.

Here’s the boat we road on waiting for us in the port.

The waitress took a picture for us during our meal. We had a table right by the window which was fun.

The appetizer. I don’t know exactly what it was, but oh, it was so good!

Young roasted chicken. Yum.

Mushroom cream soup. I know it doesn’t look like much in the picture, but trust me, it was gooood.

My main dish: fish. Delish. Hey, that rhymes! Go me!

Hisa’s main dish: steak. Also very delicious.

For dessert we had fruit mousse (I forget what flavor of fruit it was…) and tea. Everything was so good! Almost as good as…

The view! We got to enjoy the sunset from the boat while we ate our dinner.

Fantastic.

After dinner, we were able to go our onto the deck of the boat to finish watching the sunset. Yes, it was a bit windy and quite cold, but it was so much fun!

A slightly blurry night time view of Kobe city from the deck of our boat.

After our cruise, we took a train to Osaka city, where we checked into our hotel for the night and crashed.

Tomorrow our tell you about part II of our trip. There’s a lot more to come!

Entry filed under: Japan, Life, Travel. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Fun Times at the Photo Studio (Wedding Kimono Pictures) My Honeymoon Adventure: Part II

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ale  |  December 2, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Hi Rachel!!!!, thank you very much for sharing your photos!!! They are amazing!!, in fact they have inspired us and we are thinking now in to go to those places during winter hollidays.

    I´ll be looking forward the Part II!!

    Regards,

    Ale

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  December 2, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      Hi Ale!!!
      I’m glad you liked them! They’re great places to visit if you can go. I’ll try and post part II tomorrow! 🙂
      We miss you both!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives


