Cornbread

November 16, 2011 at 5:57 pm Leave a comment

Whew, I’m beat.

Today, Hisa and I closed two banks accounts, took our TV to the electronics store to throw away, went through our apartment and bagged up all the non-burnable trash to take out tomorrow morning (all my dishes and pots and pans! Aww!). Hisa also cleaned the windows and balconies (there’s 3 of ’em, so this is no easy task), and I vacuumed, cleaned the air conditioner, washed some of our blankets, and cleaned the bathtub.

We still have a lot more work to do tomorrow, but fortunately, we don’t have to go anywhere (except somewhere to eat since we have no food, no dishes, and will soon have no stove. Oh, and the drug store to throw away our old batteries and light bulbs. No, we can’t throw them away with the non-burnable trash, and yes, the drug store will dispose of them for us. So I guess we do have to go a few places. Scratch that statement about not going anywhere).

We still have to pack, clean, and throw even more stuff away. On top of that, some guy is coming to uninstall our air-conditioner, and a lady I know (Hi Kristie!) is coming to take our stove and my chair. I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but it’ll probably come back to me sometime tomorrow.

On a different note, it’s getting colder here in Kanto area Japan, and one of my favorite things to eat when it starts getting cold (or in this case, colder) is chili and cornbread. Cornbread is needed in my biscuit and cornbread dressing, which I posted about yesterday, but I realized I haven’t posted my cornbread recipe before (scandalous, I know).

This cornbread recipe is simple, but delicious, and goes perfectly with a hot bowl of chili.


Why, hello there.


Mmmm, chili and cornbread. The bad thing about writing a post right before dinner, is it tends to make one rather hungry…

Cornbread

(makes 9 pieces)

  • 1 c. cornmeal (finer ground is better)
  • 1 c. flour (I usually use a mix of whole wheat flour and unbleached all-purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 c. honey or sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 – 1 1/4 c. buttermilk
  • 1/4 c. melted butter (or oil)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400° F (200° C). Grease a 9 x 9″ baking dish.
  2. Mix cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. Mix milk, butter, and egg in a small bowl.
  4. Pour wet mixture into bowl with dry mixture. Stir just until comes together.
  5. Pour into baking dish, and bake for 20 – 25  minutes, or until golden brown.
Entry filed under: Baking, Bread, Recipes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Biscuit and Cornbread Dressing for Thanksgiving The Move

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives


