Cornmeal Pancakes

October 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm 2 comments

The store I always buy butter from has been out of butter for several days now.

And I need butter.

Every other store’s butter is super expensive.

Why is butter so expensive in Japan?

This perturbs me.

I like the word perturb. It’s fun.

The dictionary defines perturb as: “to disturb or disquiet greatly in mind; agitate” and “to throw into great disorder; derange”.

The store’s lack of butter and other stores’ super expensive butter has definitely disturbed and disquieted me greatly in mind, and it’s thrown my life into great disorder. It has deranged my menu plan!!

Therefore, I am perturbed.

The end.


These cornmeal pancakes will not perturb you (unless you just really don’t like cornmeal, in which case you might be), because they’re simply very yummy.


As always, don’t forget the maple syrup. Never forget the maple syrup.

In this recipe, I used half a cup of whole wheat flour in addition to the cornmeal, but you can use all cornmeal instead.

I also added banana, walnuts, and spices to these pancakes, but feel free to add whatever you want to these (blueberries, apple, raisins, pumpkin, etc.), or keep them plain. You gotta love the versatility of pancakes. πŸ™‚

Cornmeal Pancakes

(makes about 6 – 7 pancakes)

  • 1 c. cornmeal (I recommend using a finer grain cornmeal)
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 c. milk, heated almost to boiling
  • 1/3 – 1/2 c. hot water
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. oil or melted butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract*
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon*
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg*
  • 1/4 tsp. clove*
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts*
  • 2 bananas, chopped*
  • butter (for skillet)

*optional

  1. In a large bowl, mix cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.
  2. Add hot milk and mix.
  3. Add egg, oil, vanilla extract, and spices (optional), and mix.
  4. Gradually add hot water and mix until desired consistency.
  5. Add nuts and banana (optional).
  6. Heat skillet or griddle on medium heat and add a little butter.
  7. Pour out pancakes and cook until golden brown on one side, flip, and cook on other side until golden brown.
  8. Keep finished pancakes in a hot oven to keep warm until all pancakes are done. Serve with warm maple syrup.
Entry filed under: Bread, Breakfast & Brunch, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Today’s Lunch Today’s Lunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sobrina  |  October 26, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    these look delish πŸ™‚ I would be perturbed as well if I couldn’t easily get my hands on butter!

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad you feel my pain!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


