Today’s Lunch and Homemade Balsamic Vinaigrette

October 21, 2011 at 1:12 pm Leave a comment

I had a bit of a dinner crisis last night.

Around 5:30 pm I discovered that we were out of onions and garlic. The dinner I was planning on making last night and tonight both involve onions are garlic, but I didn’t want to ride my bicycle to the store and get sweaty and gross again as I’d already showered. So I decided I would just have to come up with something for dinner that didn’t involve onions or garlic. Unfortunately, everything I could think of that I had the ingredients for also involved onions and/or garlic.

I then realized that I use a lot of onions and garlic in my cooking.

But can you really blame me? I love the smell of onions are garlic cooking around dinner time. It’s such a homey smell (to me at least).

I think I must have brain-stormed for almost an hour about what I had on hand to make a good supper. I finally ended up making baked potatoes, curry chicken salad, and a tossed salad for dinner. No onions or garlic required!

I have to go the store today and get some onions and garlic though for dinner tonight.

A lot of Japanese food requires neither onions nor garlic, but I think I’m seriously lacking in recipes for Western dishes that don’t require either.

If you have any great recipes for dishes that don’t require onions or garlic, please comment and let me know! You may end up saving me next time I’m out!

Today’s lunch: Curry chicken salad sandwich on a homemade hamburger bun, some extra chicken salad (the bun was small, so I couldn’t get much salad on it), tossed salad with carrot, olives, and toasted walnuts, and some homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing

To make a quick, easy balsamic vinaigrette dressing:

  • Add balsamic vinegar, olive oil, about a teaspoon of mustard (I use dijon-type), and about a teaspoon of honey (optional) to a clean jam jar. Put on the lid, shake for about 10 seconds, and refrigerate until you need it.
  • The amount of vinegar and oil to use entirely depends on not only how much you want to make, but also your personal taste. I’ve heard the standard ratio for salad dressings is 1 part acid to 3 parts oil, but I like a more vinegar-y dressing (and I just really like balsamic vinegar), so I usually do a ratio of 2 parts acid to 1 part oil.
  • Experiment and find out what suits your taste. Also experiment with different types of vinegar (apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar, etc.), or try using lemon or lime juice instead of vinegar. Instead of mustard, you might try using a little plain yogurt instead, or leave it out altogether. The possibilities and endless!

It’s much healthier to make your own salad dressings, and it saves quite a bit of money too! Why waste money on expensive salad dressings that are full of artificial flavors, high fructose corn syrup, chemical preservatives, etc., when it’s so easy to make your own, right?

Here are some more easy homemade dressing recipes for you:

Caesar salad dressing

Honey mustard dressing

Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Packed Lunches, Recipes, Salad. Tags: , , , , .

Today’s Lunch Menu Plan Monday for October 24 – 28

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


