Today’s Lunch

October 17, 2011 at 11:35 am Leave a comment

I didn’t sleep well last night, and I had nightmares about tsunami to boot, so I feel so sleepy and tired this morning.

On a lighter note, Hisa saw Beetlejuice last night for the first time last night. I discovered recently that he’d never seen the whole movie (only parts), so I decided that he needed to see it, because everyone needs to see Beetlejuice at least once, right? Plus, it’s getting close to Halloween, and I’ve been wanting to watch a bunch of Halloween themed movies recently, so we rented and watched Beetlejuice last night. Fun times.

I don’t like really scary movies (especially scary ghost movies), as I’m a total whimp when it comes to scary movies (I blame my parents for this, because they showed me The Poltergeist when I was like 7), so I like to watch only kind of scary movies and/or Halloween themed movies. Bonus points if it’s also funny or has funny parts. 🙂

Here are some examples:

  • The Mummy
  • Dracula, Dead and Loving It
  • Dracula (the old black and white version)
  • Hocus Pocus
  • The Pit and the Pendulum (or any old Vincent Price movie)
  • Beetlejuice
  • The Adams Family
  • Young Frankenstein
  • Old scary black and white movies in general

What movies do you love to watch every Halloween?

Today’s lunch: Tuna melts on homemade whole wheat bread, a small salad with homemade balsamic dressing, and a persimmon

Tips:

  • If you’re making a salad for a lunch, but running short on time, use a vegetable peeler to add thin slices of vegetables to your salad. I did this with carrot, but you can use this technique with zucchini, asparagus, radish, cucumber, etc. It saves a lot of time, and can look quite fancy if you use long curls of multiple vegetables.

 

Entry filed under: Packed Lunches. Tags: , , , , .

The Yokohama Oktoberfest & Menu Plan for Oct. 17 – 21 Japanese Curry Soup

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


