Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm 4 comments

My fall pumpkin kick continues!

Yesterday I found myself with half a Japanese pumpkin (kabocha) and the desire to make something yummy with it.

I was also feeling kinda tired and bleh yesterday, so I wanted to make something fairly easy with said pumpkin.

Result: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies


Now if you’ve never had pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, you might be thinking, “Wait a minutes, pumpkin and chocolate? Together? Isn’t that a bit strange?”

My answer is: no, it’s not. It’s lovely. It’s wonderful. It’s like your favorite chocolate chip cookies and your favorite pumpkin bars had a love child together… assuming that were actually possible..which, it isn’t (but I digress..).


These cookies are lighter and more cake-like than your regular cookies. Also, because of the pumpkin, these cookies only use half the amount of butter regular cookies need, and almost half the amount of sugar. So it’s actually healthier than regular chocolate chip cookies! And if that isn’t a good excuse to drop what you’re doing and make these right this minute, I don’t know what is!

The combination of less butter and sugar, combined with pumpkin and pie spice results in a cookie that is lighter, with a slightly less sweet taste than regular cookies; delicately flavored with pumpkin, and with a settle spicy aroma. In other words, they’re really good, and a great fall treat for kids and adults alike.


Mmmm, pumpkin cookie dough…

I always use dark chocolate for these cookies (and everything else), because it’s my favorite kind of chocolate in the whole world, but use whatever kind of chips you like (semi-sweet, milk-chocolate, etc.).

I think these cookies would also be fabulous with chopped walnuts in them, but I didn’t have enough walnuts when I made them this time around (of, the travesty!). If you like nuts in your cookies, I say go for it. 🙂


I love fall. ♥

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

(makes about 24 cookies)

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour (I used 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 c. unbleached white flour, but use whatever floats your boat)
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)
  • 1/2 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground clove
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 c. chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts (optional)
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F (175 C).
  2. In a large bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, butter, vanilla, and eggs.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt.
  4. Gradually mix flour mixture into pumpkin mixture.
  5. Add chocolate chips and nuts (if using).
  6. Drop by large spoonfuls onto a greased or lined cookie sheet, and bake for about 10 – 15 minutes, or until golden brown and firm.
Entry filed under: Baking, Desserts, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Today’s Lunch Today’s Lunch

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben  |  October 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Made these today!!! Epic XD
    The taste of fall finally exists in Japan. I was stunned that they actually had everything but the puree in the store.. and it was crazy easy to make with 1/4 a kabocha.

    Thx Rachel!!^^

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      Congratulations Ben! You baked cookies! I’m so proud of you! And I’m glad the worked out and you like them, hehe.
      You can email me anytime when you have cooking questions. I’m always glad to help! 😀

      Reply
  • 3. JessicaP  |  February 12, 2012 at 6:51 am

    I made these cookies last night and loved them. They were like a mix between a cake and cookie. Yum! Pumpkin, nuts, and chocolate chips are my favorite combination! Thanks for the recipe!!

    Reply
    • 4. rueki86  |  February 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Glad you liked them! I bake these cookies every fall/winter. I love them!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


