Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

October 13, 2011 at 10:04 am 2 comments

I love pancakes.

I also love waffles (not the thinner crispy kind, but the thick, soft Belgium waffles), but due to my current lack of a waffle maker, I make due with just pancakes.

Pancakes, like muffins, are so versatile. You can add so many things and make so many kinds.

Around this time of the year, I always have a craving for pumpkin pancakes.

The settle flavor of pumpkin and toasted walnuts, accented by the spicy aroma of cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, and ginger; served with butter and warm maple syrup. And a cup of coffee. Don’t forget the coffee. NEVER forget the coffee.

That, my friends, is bliss on an October morning.

So without further ado, here is my pumpkin spice pancake recipe.

Enjoy these on a lazy Saturday morning, or on a weekday morning when you need something a little special. Just don’t forget the coffee…

One note, I use Japanese pumpkin (kabocha) when I make these. Kabocha has much less water in it than American pumpkin, so you may need to use less milk if you’re using American pumpkin (fresh or canned).

Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

(makes 7 – 8 pancakes, depending on how big you make them)

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1 c. milk (if pumpkin is very watery, use less)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. melted butter or coconut oil
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. clove
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger powder
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts (optional)
  1. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, and baking powder.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, mix pumpkin puree, milk, egg, butter, honey, vanilla, spices*, and walnuts (if using).
  3. Add liquid mixture to dry mixture and mix until smooth.
  4. Heat griddle or skillet over medium heat and coat with melted butter or cooking spray.
  5. Ladle out pancakes onto griddle, and cook until browned on bottom. Flip, and cook on remaining side until browned. Repeat until all batter used up. Serve with butter and warm maple syrup.

*note: I like to be able to taste all the spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, ginger), but if you like a more settle flavor, feel free to add less of the spices.

 

Entry filed under: Bread, Breakfast & Brunch, Recipes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

Today’s Lunch Today’s Lunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsten  |  October 20, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    These look fabulous. I am a lover of all things pumpkin/kabocha. I’ll definitely be making these.

    I found your blog via the Married in Japan group. Yoroshiku.

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 20, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Thanks! I too love all things pumpkin/kabocha, although pumpkin pancakes are one of my favorites. I also have a pumpkin cheesecake recipe (I make it with kabocha) that is to die for.
      I’m always trying to come up with new things to make with kabocha, so if you have any ideas/recipes, I’d love to know! 😀
      Yoroshiku!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


