Today’s Lunch

October 12, 2011 at 10:22 am 2 comments

I made hamburgers for dinner last night, so I made sure there were extras to put into today’s lunch.

Today’s lunch: Hamburger with my homemade hamburger buns, edamame, and a persimmon

Entry filed under: Packed Lunches. Tags: , , , , , .

Baked Japanese Croquettes (korokke) Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben  |  October 12, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Rachel~!!^^
    Save me from persimmon ignorance!!
    The ladies I teach on Tuesday told me that since it’s fall, I have to eat lots of persimmons.. but apparently there are a million varieties, and I don’t know how to find “a good one.”
    Any recommendations for persimmon shopping and eating style?

    Reply
    • 2. rueki86  |  October 12, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      Honestly, I don’t know how to find “a good one” either. I usually just buy a bag that looks nice (nice color, no rotten spots or lots of brown spots). To eat them I just peel them, cut them into bite-sized pieces, and remove the seeds if there are any.
      Are there a bunch of different kinds? I had no idea, lol. The only kinds of persimmons I know of are the persimmons with seeds, the ones without seeds, and dried persimmons.
      Honestly though, I like Japanese pears and apples better than persimmons, hehe. Fuji apples are the best apples ever in my opinion, but it’s not quite the season for those yet.
      I say just try out what you can find at a decent price, and if you don’t like it, try something else. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


