Menu Plan Monday for Oct. 10 – 14

October 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm Leave a comment

I’m actually posting this Tuesday afternoon here in Japan, but it’s still Monday in the U.S., so that counts, right? Ahaha…

Monday was a national holiday here in Japan, so Hisa and I went up to his parents’ place for the weekend. Sunday we climbed Mt. Nasu, which is about an hour drive from his parents’ place. It was so much fun! The leaves had all changed, so the mountain looked bright red. It was beautiful.

Hisa and me. We later climbed to the peak of the mountain behind us.

Beautiful, right? I took this when we were almost to the peak of the mountain in the previous picture.

The mountain actually had multiple peaks, and we climbed two of them. The first peak we climbed is actually an active volcano, and smoke was constantly coming out of it.

See the smoke? Every once in awhile we would hear a loud whooshing noise that was steam escaping from the volcano.

It looked just like Mount Doom near the peak, so I decided we should take some Lord of the Rings themed pictures while we were there… Because I’m cool like that…yo.

I was chosen for this task! If I don’t destroy the ring, no one will!

(Actually I was holding my wedding ring, and as I like my husband and wanna keep him around for awhile, I decided I probably shouldn’t throw my ring into the fires of Mount Doom. Sorry Gandalf.)

At this point, I told Hisa to crouch down in the shadow of the big rock and act like Gollum, but somehow he just ended up looking like a kid who’s been bullied…

The closer we got to the peak of the volcano, the more smoke there was. When we finally reached the peak it was like being in a cloud. A cloud that reeked of sulfurous gas that is. I hope it wasn’t toxic…

Wheeeeeere’s Rachel? (volcano peak version)

The second peak we climbed was both higher and harder, but beautiful and a lot of fun in my opinion.

A lot of the trail consisted of climbing along a cliff face while holding onto a chain that was drilled into the side of the mountain. In some places you had to brace your feet, grab the chain with both hands, and pull yourself up over huge rocks. It was awesome. Climbing back down afterward was kinda freaky, but it was worth it. 🙂

Hisa and I at the second peak. Let me just add that the wind was really strong there, and it was really cold. Also, I had a lot of stuff in my pockets, so no, that isn’t my gut sticking out. I just wanted you to know that.

It was a really fun day hiking, but we were both exhausted by the time we got home, and still tired the next day. I’m really glad we were able to go though! I hated hiking when I was a kid, but I love it now! Especially hiking in mountains! Fun!

Menu Plan for October 10 – 14:

Entry filed under: Japan, Life, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Guinness & Red Wine Stew – The Perfect Food for Fall Baked Japanese Croquettes (korokke)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


