Sunflower Festival and Today’s Lunch

August 30, 2011 at 11:49 am 2 comments

Sunflowers are such bright happy flowers, don’t you think? Not to mention the seeds are super yummy too.

Did you know, however, that there are over 80 different species of sunflowers? I sure didn’t.

There was a sunflower festival being held in a nearby town last weekend, so Hisa and I went to go check it out. I’ve never seen so many sunflowers in my life! It was beautiful!

Sunflowers, sunflowers, everywhere!

I forget what this particular type of sunflower is called, but they seem to be the more common type in Japan (disclaimer: I could be completely wrong about this. I’ve only seen this type of sunflower more than the typical American sunflower, so I assume it’s more common. If I’m wrong, don’t hurt me).

Next to the field of sunflowers, there was a huge field of cosmos flowers…and someone’s house (perhaps the person who owns the fields?).

Butterfly~!!

Hisa posed like he was smelling the flower, but I wanted him to look at the camera, so now it looks like the flower in giving him a kiss on the cheek. Awww~!

If you paid, you could actually go out and cut a bunch of sunflowers to take home with you, but Hisa and I were content to just walk around and admire all the flowers. It was fun. đŸ™‚

Okay, now for today’s lunch!

Egg salad sandwich on my homemade bread, asparagus spears with a spicy mayo dipping sauce, and one of my homemade granola bars.

Entry filed under: Life, Packed Lunches, Travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

Today’s Lunch Today’s Lunch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. B  |  August 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    good thing u did not bring any home!!!! they are full of TONSSS of buggies. best just to look and admire. kinda like the rules for married women. look, admire men. do NOT TAKE HOME…ha ha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


