Menu Plan for July 18 – 22 (and My Trip to Kamakura)

July 19, 2011 at 3:17 pm Leave a comment

A typhoon is currently making its way up the East coast of Japan. It’s supposed to hit the Tokyo area around tonight or tomorrow, but it may already be close. Of course we live far enough inland that if a typhoon hits, it just means we get a lot of rain and sometimes a lot of wind. Nothing too bad.

I’m glad the rain didn’t hit until today though. Yesterday (Monday), was a national holiday in Japan, so Hisa and I took a little mini-vacation over the three-day weekend.

We traveled to Kamakura (a historical city in Japan that was once the capital. There’s a huge number of temples and shrines) and Enoshima (a small island near the Kamakura area). In Kamakura we visited a lot of beautiful shrines and temples, met up with some friends for dinner, walked around Enoshima island (and saw Mt. Fuji from the observation tower on the top of the island), went shopping around Kamakura station area, and enjoyed local foods (and local beers). Before coming home, we went to the biggest aquarium in Japan in Yokohama (Yokohama Hakkeijima Sea Paradise). That was a lot of fun. I got to touch a huge seal! *happy squeal*

It was extremely hot and humid, and as we were outside most of the time, Hisa and I downed a lot of sports drinks every day to make up for how much we sweated (I think I sweat about 5 pounds every day we were there). I also got a little sunburned on my neck and legs, but nothing bad. Despite the extreme heat, it was still a ton of fun! I love traveling vacations! Especially with my husband.

After three days of walking all day in the head, I’m pretty tired today. Hisa had to go to work this morning, but I’m just resting at home (Sorry Honey!). Although it was just a short vacation, I’m still a little bummed it’s over. It’s always kind of a downer to go back to your normal ritual after vacation. Especially when it was a really fun one.

Still, Hisa and I have a barbecue with friends to go to this Saturday, and then we’ll be going to Tokyo where we’ll be spending one night. The reason we’re going to Tokyo is that we have an interview at the U.S. embassy really early Monday morning, which isn’t really fun, but I’m sure we’ll find something fun to do while we’re in Tokyo. So I’m sure we’ll be having another fun weekend this week.

Menu Plan for July 18 – 22:

  • Vegetable curry and steamed rice
  • Lemon-caper chicken pasta and tossed salad
  • Meatloaf, friend potatoes, and corn on the cob
  • Meatloaf sandwiches and tossed salad
  • Soba (buckwheat noodles) salad with spicy peanut sauce and hot and sour soup

Here are a few pictures from our trip.

Inari sushi and nori-maki sushi from a local restaurant. This was their specialty, so it was really good!

 

On the grounds of one of the many temples we visited. The area was so beautiful.

 

Hisa’s sweet potato ice cream and my green tea ice cream (both so good!). As it was so hot, we found it very important to have an ice cream break each day.

 

One of the many beautiful statues we saw during our trip.

 

Hisa and I near the entrance of the biggest shrine in Kamakura.

 

Monkeeeeeeey!! I shook his hand! Yaaaaay!!!

 

Hisa and I on Enoshima island.

 

Lunch. Tuna sashimi and baby sardines (nama shirasu) served on rice. Served with miso soup and some small side dishes. Very good.

 

The famous Daibutsu statue of Kamakura. It was much more impressive in person than I expected. And bigger than I expected.

 

Creme brulee ice cream. I repeat creme brulee ice cream. This was so good it was wrong.

 

Hisa and a penguin sizing each other up.

 

Jake the seal in a summer festival outfit.

 

My mint-chocolate chip ice cream crepe. Yum.

 

My purchase from the aquarium. Tell me that isn’t the cutest seal stuffed animal you’ve ever seen?! I just couldn’t resist. I tried, and failed miserably. His name is Shiro-tan. The little one on top is a cell phone strap version of Shiro-tan in a turtle costume. *girly squeal of joy*

 

Entry filed under: Life, Menu Plan Monday, Travel. Tags: , , , .

Chana Masala (Spicy Indian Chickpea Stew) Menu Plan Monday for August 1 – 5

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


