Frozen Oreo Pudding Pie

June 28, 2011 at 9:28 am 2 comments

If you regularly read this blog, you’ll know that I’m a huge proponent for natural, whole foods. Meaning, I hate prepackaged, artificial, additive injected “food”. I always try to cook from scratch and believe in using fresh vegetables, ethically raised meat, real butter, whole grains, etc.

Despite this, however, every once in a while I fudge a little.

Last week I had one such day.

What do you do when you have a box of instant chocolate pudding, instant Oreo pudding?

You buy a bag of Oreos and make this…

Behold! The Frozen Oreo Pudding Pie!!!

For whatever reason, the idea for this popped into my head last week, and considering it was really hot, it sounded really good.

So I bought a bag of oreos, smashed the life out of them, added some melted butter, and smooshed (yes, I did make that word up) it into a pie dish making a crust.

I then made the oreo pudding according to the package directions, poured it on top of the pie crust, and then stuck it in the freezer for about 10 minutes. Then, I made the chocolate pudding, poured it on top of the oreo pudding, smoothed the top, then covered and froze it for about 4 hours.

You’re going to want to take it out of the freezer for about 15 minutes before you plan to serve it. Otherwise, the pudding will be hard as a rock and a bit hard to eat.

The dollop of whipped cream on top is optional, but I recommend it.

This dessert tastes like a glorious combination of pudding, ice cream, and oreo magic.

So while I do believe in natural whole foods/cooking, I also believe it won’t kill you to fudge a little once in awhile. Especially if it’s with some chocolatey goodness like this dessert.

Life is good. Enjoy it.

 

Entry filed under: Desserts, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Menu Plan Monday for June 27 – July 1st Temaki-zushi (hand-rolled sushi)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jojoebi  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:31 am

    would it be wrong to lick the mac screen?
    looks delicious

    Reply
    • 2. The Joyful Kitchen  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

      As long as you clean it afterward, I can’t see why not. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


