Menu Plan Monday for May 30 – June 3

May 30, 2011 at 12:48 pm 2 comments

Several months ago, my bicycle was stolen.

It was a terrible shock. I met up with my friend one afternoon for coffee, and when I came out to leave, my bike was gone.

I stared at the spot in had been in for about 5 minutes while my confused mind tried to figure out what was going on. Eventually it hit me, that my bike had been stolen.

You have to understand, I don’t have a Japanese driver’s license, so I can’t drive in Japan. My only other mode of transportation besides my bicycle is my feet, so the loss of my bike was a huge blow.

The next day, Hisa and I went to the local police box, and reported my bicycle as stolen. They told us we needed the bicycle’s registration number. Unfortunately, the paper work that contained said registration number mysteriously disappeared from our apartment, and thus, we were unable to fill out a report of theft for my bike.

We went to the store where I’d purchased my bike hoping that they would have the record of when we bought and registered the bike, and have the registration number, but the guy we talked to said that all the registration files were simply thrown together in a folder for each month and it was really hard to find one. I asked him to please look anyway, which ended up making him really put out.

I didn’t have much hope.

Fast forward a couple months. I received a call from the store saying that they had searched for the registration info, but they couldn’t find it.

I pretty much gave up on ever seeing my bike again at this point.

Fast forward to last week.

We got a mysterious letter in mail last week from the police of the city located next to ours. The letter had our address, but was addressed in katakana to “Maikuren Sutoran”. The letter claimed that they had a bicycle that was registered to this person, and it needed to be picked up.

Hisa and I wondered if “Maikuren Sutoran” was some odd mutation of my middle and maiden names, so Hisa called the police station to find out. He found out that they did indeed have my bicycle. Somehow it ended up in the next city over, and the police there found it. They were then greatly confused by the foreign name on the registration I think.

The police officer Hisa talked to asked if we wanted to come pick up the bike, so Hisa asked if there was anything wrong with the bike. The officer said he would go check, and when he returned he informed Hisa that the seat and several other parts of the bike were missing. *sigh*

Hisa told him we didn’t want the bike.

Thus ended the mystery of what happened to my poor bicycle.

Fortunately, one of our friends gave us one of their bicycles, so now Hisa and I both have a bicycle to ride. Thanks B & J!!

Okay, on to this week’s menu plan!

Menu Plan for May 30 – June 3:

  • Fajitas (I was going to make this last week, but ended up making pasta with the leftover meatballs and sauce from a different night)
  • Carrot curry and samosas with yogurt sauce
  • Chicken salad wraps & leftovers
  • Tukbokki (Korean rice cakes in spicy sauce), chijimi (korean savory pancake with seafood), and kimchi & tofu soup
  • Pasta with vodka sauce and asparagus
Entry filed under: Japan, Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , .

Stuffed Bell Peppers Korean kimchi chigae, tukbokki, and chijimi

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peke Penguin  |  May 30, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Interesting how they register bikes in Japan. Seems the only things that get stolen in Japan are bicycles … perhaps by drunken “salarymen”

    Reply
    • 2. The Joyful Kitchen  |  May 30, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      Since bicycle theft is sadly common here, bicycle registration is a great way of combating that. Of course the probability of getting your bicycle back after it’s been stolen is still slim.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


