Menu Plan Monday (May 16 – 20)

May 17, 2011 at 9:07 am 1 comment

My conclusion from the past week is…

karate is awesome.

It’s hard (especially those straight-leg kicks), but awesome.

I’ve been going to the afternoon classes, and although I’ve only had two classes so far, I’m enjoying it a lot. The afternoon classes are much less crowded than the evening classes (about 4 students as opposed to 15 or so), so I can get more help from the teacher which is nice. Also, all the students I’ve met in the afternoon classes so far are all super nice and friendly.

As I just started, it’s kind of hard following all the different punches/kicks/blocks and knowing all their names. Everything has a name. Every stance, punch, kick, block, etc. Remembering them will take a while. Also, some of the blocks confuse me to no end. While one arm goes out, the other wraps around my head/back and whips out in a different direction. It’s kind of like patting your head with one hand and rubbing your stomach with the other at the same time. I get confused which hand is supposed to do what. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it eventually.

I did discover at yesterday’s class though that I’m actually pretty good at roundhouse kicks, and I can kick pretty high (thank you all those years of dance!). This makes me happy. I dunno why. It just does. Yay me!

It’s definitely an intense work-out, but I like it. There are two other ladies in the class I’ve met who look to be in their 50’s. Despite their sweet personalities and demure figures, however, these ladies can kick my butt in a heartbeat, probably with both hands tied behind their backs. One is a black belt and the other is a brown belt (one below black belt). After my first class, the lady with the brown belt just dropped down and started doing push-ups on her fists in quick succession. I also had the pleasure of being kicked in the stomach repeatedly by the lady with the black belt during one class. Yes, there were pads I was holding between her foot and my stomach. Yes, it still hurt. These ladies are awesome.

I’ll let you know how the class progresses.

Okay! So now for this week’s menu plan!

Menu Plan for May 16 – 20

I’m also planning on making cookies at some point this week, but I think I’m going to make them cookie bars instead of regular cookies. Served with some vanilla ice cream. Mmm, mmm, good!

Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: , , .

I joined a karate dojo today Meatloaf: Like a warm blanket…of meat.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. B  |  May 24, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Sweeeeet!!! Thanks always, for posting tasty recipes and great stuff.

    Yesterday I made tri-colored bow ties and ravioli. A huge hit!

    I’ll post it on my blog tonight, along w/the noodle recipe.

    The only hard thing was hunting down semolina at yamaya.

    Later!
    viv

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Me

My name is Rachel. I'm a small-town girl born and raised in Oklahoma, currently living in Japan, who likes cooking, baking, reading, working out, and traveling. Join me in my culinary adventures, my domestic doings, and the story of my life, one day at a time.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


